How to Reformat my iBook?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by heymanniceshoes, Apr 14, 2008.

  1. heymanniceshoes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #1
    It's got 640 RAM, and i'd like to reformat it to maximize use of that. However, i don't have the OS Disks, so i need to do it without them. How can i do such a thing?


    I'm also doing this because some of my programs aren't working properly.
     
  2. MacDann macrumors 6502a

    MacDann

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Location:
    Can see the end of the Earth from here
    #2
    Not sure what you're trying to accomplish, as RAM use is based on the demands of the system, unless you're still running OS 9, which allowed you to allocate RAM manually for each app if desired.

    Are you talking about defragmenting, possibly? If so, it's not necessary under OS X.

    More information, please...

    MacDann
     
  3. heymanniceshoes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #3
    No i'm talking about completely reformatting, scratch the thing about RAM.




    I have this problem with permissions i think. Half of the programs i install don't work. When they're clicked on, they appear in the dock, bounce twice or so, then disappear, i can't launch them.


    I figure reformatting is my only hope.
     
  4. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    you need the install disks to do this. unless you mean something other than reformat...

    Could you describe your thinking more, as reformatting won't help utilize ram.
     
  5. MacDann macrumors 6502a

    MacDann

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Location:
    Can see the end of the Earth from here
    #5
    There's no "reformatting", only erasing the partition/drive and doing a clean install.

    Have you run Disk Utility' repair function to see if that helps?

    MacDann
     
  6. heymanniceshoes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #6
    How do i do that?


    This is the first day, of my first mac. (Besides an iPod, lol.)


    Sorry if i'm dumb as a rock.
     
  7. MacDann macrumors 6502a

    MacDann

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Location:
    Can see the end of the Earth from here
    #7
    Another possibility is to find someone that has Disk Warrior or Disk Genius and have at it with those. Between these two utilities you can fix a large percentage of problems such as yours. However, the best possible solution is to wipe and reinstall.

    Have you considered posting a WTB thread in the Marketplace for the disks for this machine, or an old version of OS X?

    MacDann
     
  8. mr.light macrumors 6502

    #8
    What software does not run? It may not be compatible.
     
  9. heymanniceshoes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #9
    1. How do i use the disk repair thing from your last post?
    2. What's Disk Genius?
    2. What's Disk Warrior?
    4. How much would that cost?
    5. I have two 2's.
     
  10. MacDann macrumors 6502a

    MacDann

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Location:
    Can see the end of the Earth from here
    #10
    Step 1:

    Go to: Go > Utilities > Disk Utility

    Double click on the Disk Utility icon to run the app.

    When it opens, highlight your hard drive in the window on the left. it will actually be listed "twice", as the physical drive will show first, then the OS X partition will be just below the physical drive.

    In the "main" window, there will be several tabs at the top you can choose. You want "First Aid."

    Down towards the bottom of the window are a couple of buttons, one that says "Verify Disk Permissions" and one that says "Repair Disk Permissions."

    You can run the verify function first and look at the results to see what it finds. It won't do anything at this point other than identify problems. Once you've run the verify, you can run repair and it will attempt to repair any broken permissions, reporting the results when it completes.

    Once you've done this, if it reports that everything is fixed, reboot and try some things out that were broken before.

    Report back after this.

    MacDann
     
  11. heymanniceshoes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #11
    i tried that before, but not in that order.


    i just did repair.
     
  12. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #12
    I don't fully understand what your problem is. Was there anything wrong or were you suspicious?

    EDIT: What OS are you running?
     

Share This Page