How to release IP address with airport express

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rxl125, Sep 29, 2007.

  1. rxl125 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #1
    How can I obtain a new IP address with my airport express router, iMac, and comcast.

    Do I have to leave it unplugged for a long time?
     
  2. rxl125 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #2
    is there an ipconfig feature like windows has?
     
  3. kostia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #3
    In the Network pane of System Preferences, there are two buttons below your list of network connections: Configure and Disconnect.

    Click Configure. On the TCP/IP tab you have a button labeled "Renew DHCP lease." According to the help files (search for 'release ip address'), this is the same as ipconfig /release AND ipconfig /renew.

    If you are set up to receive your IP address using DHCP, you can force your computer to release your current IP address and get a new one from your DHCP server.

    Open System Preferences and click Network.
    Choose your connection method from the Show pop-up menu (such as Built-in Ethernet or Airport).
    Click TCP/IP and click Renew DHCP Lease.
    This might be helpful in an environment where many computers use the same DHCP server, or the network administrator has set up a short DHCP lease time.

    Check with your ISP or network administrator to find out if you need to renew your DHCP address.
     
  4. LarK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #4
    Renew DHCP lease

    the renew DHCP lease button does not release the ip information. It simply does and ipconfig /renew
    -to release this information go into system preferences > network
    -change the show menu to Network Port Configurations
    -uncheck the box for method of connection (uncheck airport for wireless, built-in ethernet for ethernet connection, etc)
    -click apply now
    -check the box for the device again (i.e. airport)
    -click apply now.

    This information can be found at the apple website, here is a link
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=106879
     
  5. unsung macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    SW Chicago burbs
    #5


    I did a search, sorry for bumping an old thread but this worked for me. Thank you.
     
  6. 9000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Location:
    Hyrule
    #6
    Release the DHCP from the ISP or get one Mac to release its local DHCP? I'm trying to release the ISP one, and I haven't found the answer anywhere.
     

Share This Page