How to remove a frame (including audio) in FCE?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Gloor, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. Gloor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a clip that was created in QT by putting two clips together and then exported. I now noticed, that there is one frame that doesn't belong there which is also messed up with the audio.
    How do I simply remove that frame and the audio on that frame so my clip plays smoothly?

    I am a FCE noob so please be quite specific. (still learning the basics) :(
     
  2. Luis Ortega macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #2
    I would just trim the clip back by one frame.
    If the bad frame is not at the end of the clip, I would razor (cut) the clip right at the faulty frame and then trim away the bad frame and move the two clips back together.
     
  3. huntercr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #3
    There are multiple ways of solving this, but I would think the easier way since you said you imported the already merged clips into your project, I would do this:

    Zoom in on the timeline to the frame level and use the razor tool to cut out the frame. You may find it's actually larger than one frame, so step though it to make sure.

    If your audio is out of sync because of that frame, rather than there being "bogus" audio in that frame, then be sure and "lock" the audio before you cut the frame. That will bump the audio back to the "right" point. Of course if you *do* have bogus audio in there, don't lock when you cut.

    Ok now that I've said that, please permit me to give you a little grief... :)

    There are Very extensive tutorials and a 1000 page manual PDF that comes with Final Cut. The learning curve on this is high enough that you ought not to just try and wing it... that manual has a ton of information in it and is very well organized.
     
  4. Gloor thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #4
    Thank you very much. The razor thing did the trick. :)
    Unfortunately I don't have the manual as I left it in a different country when I moved so I'll pick it up when I'm visiting my parents again :)

    Thanks for help, I appreciate it
     
  5. Chaos123x macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #5
    Hopefully there won't be a jump cut where you cut out the frame.

    If there is one you can use a white flash, dissolve or B-roll footage to cover it up.
     
  6. huntercr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #6
    It's also included as PDF on the install DVD.
     
  7. Chaos123x macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #7
    How would you not know how to use the razor too? :confused:
     

Share This Page