How to remove Java error

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by michael31986, Mar 24, 2016.

  1. michael31986 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #1
    hi. I keep getting this Java pop up. How do I get rid of it? Do I have to downgrade Java? Any step by steps would help. This is the error.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #2
    I presume you're not typing in a command in Terminal. Otherwise, some script or program requires Java to run. Are you clicking to open a program and the popup happens there or does it just pop up at random?

    Java used to be a part of the OSX installation. It no longer is. Did you upgrade to a new OSX version or install some new software? Or has this been happening for a while and now is the time you've decided to deal with it?

    If you know what program requires Java, the easiest path is to not use that program. Some Adobe programs require Java and the wrinkle there (I think) is that it requires an older version of Java. Some programs used what was called the "Java Application Stub" which made the Java program have more of a OSX look and feel, vs. the look and feel of Java - but the Java Application Stub is no longer supported so the program needs to be run without it. The Java runtime software is free and can be downloaded.

    If you know the answers to these questions, suggestions can be made as to how to remedy the issue. It would also be helpful if you press the "More Info" button on the screenshot you posted. What comes up may be useful.
     
  3. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    So, did you click the "more info" button as it instructs?

    BTW, what are you doing when this message pops up?
     
  4. michael31986 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #4
    It randomly pops up. And I am have had it since I upgraded my Java a while back. I haven't clicked more info. I just click okay and it goes away and then it comes back later.
     
  5. Sko macrumors regular

    Sko

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    Try installing Java Development Kit from Oracle's site. Java site just gives you the browser plugin.
     
  6. rshrugged, Mar 24, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2016

    rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #6
    According to Oracle FAQs, you might have an app that requires a legacy version of Java --
    https://www.java.com/en/download/faq/yosemite_java.xml
    Also see the Apple support link in the above quote.

    EDIT to add standard warning -- Because of added security vulnerabilities, if it can be avoided, it's best to not use Java.
     
  7. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #7
    A couple of the programs that was given as possible instigators of the popup is Chrome and Facebook video-chat. Do you use those programs?

    In System Preferences, is there a pane for Java? (It would be on the last row.) If there is a pane, open the "Terminal" application, click "Shell", then "New Command ..." and type it "java -version". If both the Java Pane is there and you get some information back from the "java -version", then you likely have the issue where some program wants the older Java version. If you have neither the Java Pane and the "java -version" command says "Command not found" or something similar, it means that something has gone wrong with your previous Java installation - perhaps you upgraded (not updated) the OS after you last installed/upgraded Java. I've also read that El Capitan (maybe Yosemite as well?) will no longer will allow non-Apple versions of Java below a certain level.

    If you don't want Java anymore, you will need to find out what program is asking for it and either not use it or find out what can be done so it doesn't ask for Java.
     
  8. michael31986 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #8
    This sounds so confusing. Sorry. I'm not that computer savvy. I do have chrome.

    Also I have Java 8
    --- Post Merged, Mar 24, 2016 ---
    It may be that chrome uses legacy java
    --- Post Merged, Mar 24, 2016 ---
    I just did that now I have the upgraded version. Let's see if it works better now.
     
  9. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #9
    Hopefully what you did will fix your issues. It looks like you may have the JRE vs. JDK issue, which Sko has pointed out in another thread here. I've been using Java since the beginning, almost 20 years ago and it's perplexing (and no doubt aggravating to many end-users) why Chrome would require the JDK vs. JRE - but I've learned something today.
     
  10. rshrugged macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #10
    Well, count me perplexed too. I don't use Chrome; have only briefly considered it. I don't have Java installed because of the previously mentioned vulnerabilities. Despite this, I hope the OP and other posters can follow up with any progress reports and explanations about what is confusing, at least to me. It'll help other members who are similarly confused who land here.

    As I understand it, JDK includes JRE, and, both the Java compiler and APIs. It's a programming tool.
    https://www.java.com/en/download/faq/develop.xml

    Is installing JDK a known method of working around Chrome's suspended usage of NPAPI plug-ins, thus Java usage, as explained at Google?
    https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/6213033

    Oracle (Java) suggests to use a browser other than Chrome for certain sites which require Java. Perhaps there's a web start application rather than a Java applet that's causing the OP's pop-up.

    https://www.java.com/en/download/faq/chrome.xml
     

Share This Page