How to remove password when going to choice of OS

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by eyefoniac, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. eyefoniac macrumors 6502

    eyefoniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere and nowhere
    #1
    When I start up my computer and hold down option to get the choice of whether Mac or Windows to boot into I have to put in a password before I can choose which OS. Does anyone know how to remove this so that it goes straight to the OS choices? Thanks!
     
  2. WPB2 macrumors 6502a

    WPB2

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Southeast, LA
    #2
    I thought the password was only if you wanted to boot from your network. I never had to put in a password to pick from Win/ OS X
     
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    Do you get a screen like this?

    [​IMG]

    If so I would follow the steps as detailed in this knowledge base article

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1352

    I know it details how to set up the password but I IIRC the utilities can disable them as well.
     
  4. eyefoniac thread starter macrumors 6502

    eyefoniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere and nowhere
    #4
    No, the screen has the same background color as the normal apple boot (a light gray) and has a picture of a lock over a box in which the password has to be typed.
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    That's an EFI firmware password. It's the same as what xUKHCx said.
     
  6. eyefoniac thread starter macrumors 6502

    eyefoniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere and nowhere

Share This Page