iPhone How to remove pulsating red bar when using microphone?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by macattila, Jan 26, 2014.

  1. macattila macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    #1
    I'd like to record audio discreetly with my iPhone 5. The IOS default Voice Memos app would be fine, but it displays a pulsating red status bar on the top of the home screen while using the devices microphone. Does anyone have a solution for that?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Ryan Burgess macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    #2
    I believe springtomize 3 has a setting that hides the recording status bar view. Idk if that's what it hides though so you might want to double check.
     
  3. Menneisyys2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #3
    Doesn't seem to work on my 7.0.4 iPhone 5 with a legal (non-cracked) Springtomize 3 install.

    Other global functionalities work like:

    - animation speed setting to 0.3 (sadly, it can't be decreased to 0.0 to give instant animations - unlike with com.marcosinghof.noslowanimations, which I still prefer to Springtomize 3 in this respect)

    - faking the carrier

    Nevertheless, enabling "Recording" hiding doesn't work:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Bunnyfu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    #4
    Same here, iOS 7.0.4, iphone 5S. Installed springtomize 3 mainly for hiding the annoying red recording bar. However, the config switch does not work...

    Is it working for anyone else, perhaps on non-arm64 devices?
     
  5. Menneisyys2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #5
    Doesn't work on 32-bit devices either - see my earlier post.
     
  6. macattila thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    #6
    Before starting the thread I also tried with a legal Springtomize 3 with iPhone 5 IOS 7.0.4, didn't work either.
     
  7. sinfool macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    #7
    I just made a Flex patch for this (if not on the flex cloud yet, it should be shortly). Download Flex and search for the Voice Memos patch titled "Stealth Mode". :D
     
  8. macattila thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    #8
    At last! It works! With this my iPhone is complete. Thank you for your help sinfool!
     
  9. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #9
    You turn off the screen. It will still record w the screen off. ;)
     
  10. macattila thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    #10
    minimising risks

    Carlanga: yeah, but if in any case I'd touch the device I immediately got busted..

    Good bye big pulsating red bar :)
     
  11. sunny127 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    #11
    It worked!! Thank you sinfool.

    It works great on my iPhone 5 IOS 7.1
    I bought the original version of Flex 2.
    I have to say that springtomize 3 didn't succeed hiding the red recording bar, but yours Flex Stealth Mode works fine.
     
  12. wave-forms macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #12
    I am attempting to create a Flex patch for this for the app "Heard" but I am having no luck whatsoever. May I please trouble you to help me identify the Target Method that controls the double height and red color of the status bar when it's recording in the background? I took a look at your patch, and I'm pretty sure it is not named the same in the Heard app.
     
  13. yupi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    #13
    Well done! But could you do it for IOS6? Thanks in advance for your reply!
     
  14. David Harris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    #14
    Having trouble locating Flex2, am hoping device doesn't have to be jail broken.? Can someone pls post link . . . IOS 9.3.4
     
  15. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #15
    Device has to be jailbroken to install flex
     

Share This Page