how to remove the menu option for sync in the status bar if there are no accounts set

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by jmwalton, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. jmwalton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    #1
    the title says it all, i set up my gmail account to sync my contacts to turn it off on my phone then sync with my phone and address book.
    i did that all and well, but now, the sync menu option is still there and i no longer want it there!
    when i search in system prefs for sync, i find it, but its in the mobile me pref area, but you need to sign in to even change settings to turn it off!
    so my question is!
    is there another way to turn it off?
    thank you for the help?
     
  2. Tearabite macrumors regular

    Tearabite

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Location:
    So.California
    #2
    I ran into the same issue and found no way around it (posted here, no answers).. Luckily for me I have a MM account so I can just stick the info in and get to the preference panel..
     
  3. iL15hts macrumors member

    iL15hts

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A5274d Safari/7534.48.3)

    Hold the control+cmd then drag the icon out of the menu bar
     
  4. marc11 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #4
    So if you click on the sync icon, select preferences and uncheck the show sync icon on menu bar option it still shows or asks to log in?
     
  5. jmwalton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    #5
    so, what do you suggest i do next?

     
  6. jmwalton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    #6
    thank you very very much!
    being blind it makes it hard to use the mouse to do things like this, but i worked around it!
    thank you again for that!

     
  7. Kanunu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #7
    This seems to be the simple solution to the original post. I have no Mobile Me devices so this icon always did no harm but bugged my OCD sensibilities. :eek: I am a slob everywhere else but a neatnick with my desktop.

    Thanks
     
  8. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #8
    FYI, you only need to hold down the CMD key and drag. This works for most (if not all) optional menubar items.
     
  9. phobox macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #9
    Its little simple but helpful things like the cmd+drag trick for menubar items that made me fall in love with OSX all those years ago. It just makes life so much simpler.
     

Share This Page