How to remove WP permalinking? I only want the post title & excerpt.

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by patent10021, Jun 4, 2014.

  1. patent10021, Jun 4, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2014

    patent10021 macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #1
    www.mogo.jp

    All the text at the bottom is generated from posts but the problem is I don't want people clicking the post and going to the page of the post. I just want to use the text from the post to display on the home page.

    Thanks
     
  2. 960design macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #2
    Couldn't view your page. I'd go into the code bit that is generating the content for the bottom of your page and remove the href links around the post title.
     
  3. Flood123, Jun 5, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2014

    Flood123 macrumors 6502a

    Flood123

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Living Stateside
    #3
    This is a visual of what patent10021 is talking about. In your theme look at the page you are using as your home page. You should something like this in there:
    Code:
    <h5>
       <a href="<?php the_permalink(); ?>" title="<?php the_title(); ?>">
          <?php the_title(); ?>
       </a>
    </h5>
    
    Change that out for this:

    Code:
    <h5><?php the_title(); ?></h5>
    
    That will pull the title without linking to it. Make certain it is the Homepage template you remove this from and not anything else. it will be named like home.php, homepage.php, frontpage.php, or whatever.

    If it is not in your home page template it might be pulling from another page in which case i would need to see the theme to tell ya where that little guy is living.

    Like patent10021 said, without the page template used in the theme this is about the best I can do as far as helping.
     
  4. patent10021, Jun 5, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2014

    patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #4
    it was down?

    ----------

    thanks will try it. EDIT: I checked and the page-home.php only has this.
    Code:
    <?php
    /**
    * Template Name: Home Page
    */
    
    get_header(); ?>
    
    <div class="motopress-wrapper content-holder clearfix">
    	<div class="container">
    		<div class="row">
    			<?php do_action( 'cherry_before_home_page_content' ); ?>
    			<div class="span8" data-motopress-wrapper-file="page-home.php" data-motopress-wrapper-type="content">
    				<div data-motopress-type="static" data-motopress-static-file="static/static-slider.php">
    					<?php get_template_part("static/static-slider"); ?>
    				</div>
    				<div data-motopress-type="loop" data-motopress-loop-file="loop/loop-page.php">
    					<?php get_template_part("loop/loop-page"); ?>
    				</div>
    			</div>
    			<div class="span4 sidebar" data-motopress-type="dynamic-sidebar" data-motopress-sidebar-id="home-sidebar">
    				<?php dynamic_sidebar("home-sidebar"); ?>
    			</div>
    			<?php do_action( 'cherry_after_home_page_content' ); ?>
    		</div>
    	</div>
    </div>
    
    <?php get_footer(); ?>
    I think I will have to edit one of the Cherry pages.
     
  5. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #5
    ok new post because I found some stuff. The only possibility I could find was here:There are three different areas where a href appears and here is each block:

    cherry: Editing CherryFramework/functions.php


    Code:
    function no_more_jumping($post) {
    			return ' <a href="'.get_permalink().'" class="read-more">'.theme_locals("continue_reading").'</a>';
    		}
    		add_filter('excerpt_more', 'no_more_jumping');
    	}
    Code:
    $output .= '<li class="'.$class_list_item.'">';
    						$output .= $display_thumbnail ? '<figure class="thumbnail featured-thumbnail"><a href="'.get_permalink().'" title="'.get_the_title().'"><img data-src="'.$image.'" alt="'.get_the_title().'" /></a></figure>': '' ;
    						$output .= $display_link ? '<a href="'.get_permalink().'" >'.get_the_title().'</a>': '' ;
    						$output .= '</li>';
    					}
    
    Code:
    <?php echo $icon_tips_before.'<a href="'.get_permalink().'" title="'.get_the_title().'">'.theme_locals('permalink_to').'</a>'.$icon_tips_after; ?>
    								</div>
    								<?php
     
  6. 960design macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #6
    Not sure if it was down of if my network team was working extra diligently and blocking / vetting the content.

    Flood listed what you should be looking for and is could be in the 'loop/loop-page' directory:
    <?php get_template_part("loop/loop-page"); ?>

    OR in here:
    <?php do_action( 'cherry_after_home_page_content' ); ?>

    One of those are generating the post loops.


    Oops, now I see your post: OR it could be in a function. Love editing other's themes, so many ways to do things. It's really tough for us to guess at. I'd comment out each of the functions and see what happens to your site. Those functions could be used in many, many places. If it does break your site, copy / paste the function that is actually creating the front page content, change it's name to something like homepagePostLoop() and then change the name of the calling function in the proper cherry section. Wow, I just reread that and it confused me.
     
  7. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #7
    its ok! Done!

    Instead of deleting code i simply added 2 lines of css to style.css do disable it all. don't know why people try to hunt down and delete php when all you have to do is add 2 lines to style.css :)
     
  8. Flood123 macrumors 6502a

    Flood123

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Living Stateside
    #8
    patent10021, Sorry i didn't see your private messages till right now. It looks like you got it sorted but i just want to make sure before I leave the thread.

    ----------

    Yeah man sometimes editing peoples themes can be interesting. There really are SO many ways to do things.
     
  9. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #9
    No problem! Got it sorted out. Actually one of the reasons I post for help is not actually to get help but because I end up thinking more about my post and I end up getting many answers while I stew on it for a bit.

    I used ONE property. Can you guess what the CSS property is? It disables all permalinks without having to hunt down and search through pages of php and removing the anchor elements etc. And for an amateur like me that saves massive time and headache.
     

Share This Page