How to reset a 2010 Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by L33dwc, Dec 26, 2015.

  1. L33dwc macrumors newbie

    L33dwc

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    #1
    Hi

    Have had iPhones, iPads and iPods I have dipped my toe into the world of macs and have been fortunate to pick up 2010 Mac. All in good working order. However there is a slight issue. Mainly being that I can't access the admin account due to no password p. And it is unavailable. I have tried to get into recovery mode but it seems it is not available to pre 2011 Mac. Also it has not updated for a long time

    So what are my options. Fresh install using a external drive. If so how can I do this, then add this to the internal hard drive? If not what are my other options and how do,I go about this. Also what OS X can I use?Sorry for the vague post.

    Thanks
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Google "single user reset password osx" without the " that will get you the method to reset the password. A 2010 should be able to run the latest software which is good since that is all you will get when using the App Store to download new OS. Once you have the new OS downloaded start the installer and when you get to where you can use disk utility after it has rebooted the first time wipe the entire drive in the machine to start fresh. From that point on it is a matter of following the directions given until it completes.
     
  3. L33dwc thread starter macrumors newbie

    L33dwc

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    #3
    Sorry for the large reply. I have now sorted this. Basically I went further and managed to set up a completely new admin. Now running el captain smoothly. Thanks.
     
  4. LeeHnetinka macrumors newbie

    LeeHnetinka

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    This is Lee Hnetinka and want to know, How do I find my router's IP address Mac?
     
  5. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #5
    If you’re connected via Ethernet go to System Preferences>Network and the router IP should show. If you’re on wifi you’ll have to continue by clicking the “Advanced” button and choosing the TCP/IP tab.
     
  6. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    OP:

    You're going to have to create a bootable USB flashdrive with a copy of the OS installer on it.
    With that you can:
    1. Boot the Mac
    2. ERASE the internal drive (nuke it to zero)
    3. RE-install a clean copy of the OS, then set it up.

    However, you MUST create the flashdrive on another Mac.
    This CANNOT be done on a PC.

    If you have no way to do this, you can go on ebay.
    There are sellers there who will sell you a USB flashdrive with the OS of your choice pre-installed on it.
    These don't cost much -- about $20 (US).
    Then --- just connect it, boot, and off you go...
     
  7. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #7
    See Post #4. :D
     

Share This Page