How to Restore back to factory specs!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by billyfoil, Jun 26, 2009.

  1. billyfoil macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #1
    Sold my iMac and was wondering the best way to have it restored back to new for the next owner? I did have to upgrade to leopard when I bought this. So I would like Leopard to be on there for next owner.


    Any info:apple:
     
  2. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #2
    Use the install disks and use the "erase and install" option.
     
  3. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #3
    I used this method when I sold my previous iMac and the purchaser really appreciated getting the machine in basically the exact same state at which it arrived to me from Apple.
     
  4. noodle654 macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #4
    So with this when the person opens the computer and turns it on, it will go through the OS X like the computer was new? With the movie and everything?
     
  5. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #5
    Yup. I did the second to last command to setup a new admin account on my PM because I didn't have the password for the current account.
     
  6. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #6
    I'd love to run an data salvage application on a used Mac, just to see what kind of interesting stuff my former owner once had on the system... Just think, if he/she had sensitive data on there.. imagine how much it could sell for? HAHAHAH!!

    [evil grin]

    Personally, I never use the default HD Apple supplies, as soon as the Macs arrive the first thing I do is swap out the drives. Restoration for me would be as quick as swapping the drives out. :):)
     

Share This Page