How to restore dead MacMini HDD from Time Machine?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MacNoobGuy, Oct 4, 2012.

1. MacNoobGuy macrumors 6502

hi all, i've got a MacMini here running OSX Lion. i've got an external USB HDD running Time Machine and i've been keeping daily backups for the past 6 months. i just wanted to know how i could restore the HDD if it were to die. if i bought a new HDD tomorrow for example, how could i get my system running back to where it was running today with all of the current settings and files etc?

is it easy to do?

thanks, i'd really appreciate any help!

2. MacNoobGuy thread starter macrumors 6502

is there any way for me to check that Time Machine will actually restore OS X, all my videos, music and my work should the HDD actually die?

thanks

3. snberk103 macrumors 603

I think your best bet is to check over at the Apple Support pages. There should be a knowledge base article. While I use TM, I do so to recover from 'user errors'.... i.e. me deleting things I didn't mean to.

For disaster recovery - the internal HDD goes bad, for instance - I also do nightly cloned backup to an external HDD. Recovering from a crashed HDD is very easy with this strategy. Put new HDD in, clone the external HDD to internal, re-input license codes for a couple of applications that were tied to the hardware.

I'm not saying that TM can't do that.... just that I don't know how to do it because - in my case - it's not what I would be doing. But I do know it can be done... so check with the Apple Support pages. Good Luck. I'm glad you are trying to get prepared before you need to know how this works. :)

4. MacNoobGuy thread starter macrumors 6502

ok thanks.

but does anyone know if Time Machine can restore a dead Mac Mini HDD?

i can't seem to find an article on how to do it from Apple. would i do it by hitting 'alt' at boot up and then selecting 'Recovery'? is there a way i can test it out or should i just leave it?

5. chown33, Mar 12, 2013