How to restore with Time Machine?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ikos, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. ikos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #1
    So what exactly do I have to do if my MacBook Pros HD should fail? I have an external HD back up using Time Machine. So I get a new HD install it in the MBP and what next? ( to get my Mac up and running the way it was )

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. matthewscott661 macrumors 6502

    matthewscott661

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    boot up from OS X install DVD and when you get to the install screen, there is a menu at the top called utilities and you can select restore from backup. make sure your backup HD is connected and it will do the rest for you.
     
  3. OmegaRed1723 macrumors 6502

    OmegaRed1723

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    The Waste
    #3
  4. ikos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
  5. Achiever macrumors 6502

    Achiever

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #5
    I just did a full TM restore yesterday and it (seems to have) worked like a charm. I was very impressed.
     

Share This Page