How to rip DVDs on new iMac with Handbrake?!?!?!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by YoNadz, Mar 20, 2016.

  1. YoNadz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #1
    So, we just purchased a 27" iMac 5K. I've had been trying to digitize our entire DVD library to iTune with Handbrake so we are able to watch movies on our Apple TV. Recently my DVD rips are all pixelated and jumbled. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? The rips turn out fine on our ancient Windows laptop, but I really want to do this on our new mac...
     
  2. northernmunky, Mar 20, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2016

    northernmunky macrumors 6502a

    northernmunky

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, Taipei
    #2
    Its usually best to rip an image of the disc contents before transcoding with Handbrake. I havent tried ripping directly from the disc as it usually takes signifigantly longer, so I use MakeMKV to rip the movie into an MKV file first and then transcode from that file. To my recollection, pixellated images usually occur when ripping directly from disc, this is because ofthe Macrovision copy protection which is supposed to be alleviated if you have a copy of the 64bit VLC installed to decrypt it (Handbrake with automatically detect it).

    Anyway, rip with MakeMKV first into a file, and then transcode that using the AppleTV preset.

    Oh, and a tip. MakeMKV isn't free, but you can use it as a trial before it disables itself after a new version is released. So to get around it, I run the app in a Windows virtual machine I created and duplicated the VM's image. Meaning I have a clean Windows 8 VM running in Parallels, of which I've duplicated as a backup copy on my HD.
    • Then in Parallels I install MakeMKV on one clean image, use the app until it expires (then you won't be able to use it anymore).
    • Delete the Windows image (because you can't reset the trial)
    • Duplicate the previous clean duplicated image
    • Rename it to match the original image
    • Install MakeMKV again.
    • Keep going where you left off
    • Process takes about 5 minutes and you're back up and running.
     
  3. YoNadz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #3
    I just downloaded and installed VLC. Hopefully that alone will fix the problem. Trying to encode with Handbrake again now.
     
  4. Fancuku macrumors 6502a

    Fancuku

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Location:
    PA, USA
    #4
    n00b, you can just get a new beta key every two months or so

    http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1053

    Bookmark that page. ;)
     
  5. northernmunky macrumors 6502a

    northernmunky

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, Taipei
    #5
  6. Fancuku macrumors 6502a

    Fancuku

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Location:
    PA, USA
    #6
    And they will provide a new key on April 1st. ;)
     
  7. EssentialGadget macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    #7
  8. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #8
    How can something be easier than one click? o_O
     
  9. Farond Suspended

    Farond

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    #9
  10. mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #10
    MakeMKV (free)>Handbrake (free; using ATV preset)>Done

    Don't make this hard. It's not.
     

Share This Page