How to rip old Region 4 DVDs?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Polska, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. Polska macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro - RJ
    #1
    Hello folks,

    I am desperate. Soon I will move for an year to Berlin and I do want to get all my DVDs (850 and counting) with me. Of course it will be impossible to carry all of them with me so I started slowly to rip them. The Region 1 DVDs I have no problem using Handbrake but the Region 4 (specially the old ones) it seems impossible.

    Every time that I try to rip a Region 4 with HandBrake, takes 10 minutes to it scanning the DVD and returns a "No source found". Sometimes, after 10 or so minutes waiting, he finds the main title and extract but when I check the video, it's damaged (just the sound with a green bar as video).

    I already tried Mac The Ripper (2.66) and it rips with no problem but by the end, it says that has bad tracks so later I cannot convert to a M4V with Handbrake. I read here people talking about Visual Hub but this one simply froze and didnt do anything.

    Can anybody suggest something else? I would appreciate .

    Thanks!

    Erick Pessôa
    Brazil
     
  2. thunderclap macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    Have you tried copying the VIDEO_TS directory from the DVD to your hard drive and then burning it to a DVD-R? Maybe original DVD has some imperfections that are causing the problem.
     
  3. Polska thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro - RJ
    #3
    I don't think it's an imperfection because I tried 32 different DVDs so far. It's something different. :(
     
  4. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Brazil is NTSC, correct? So that is likely not the problem...
     
  5. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #5
    You might try one of the old deCSS programs. If they are old DVDs it is probably as simple as stripping the CSS off. You can google it. I believe the original program was called simply decss for the PC. I seem to remember there was a similar program for the Mac.
     
  6. pacmania1982 macrumors 6502a

    pacmania1982

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #6
    I've found that if I try to rip a Region 1 DVD when my DVD drive is set to a different region, I get the same problem. I also can't copy the VIDEO_TS folder from the DVD to my hard drive. Easiest way round it I have found is to put a different region DVD in (say if its set to the default 2 and I put in a 1) Apple DVD Player will ask me to change the region, which I do. I can then rip the DVD, then put in a region 2 DVD and change it back again.

    I'm using Region X to reset the count each time so the drive doesn't get locked to a specific region after 5 changes

    Hope this helps

    pac
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    disc region 4 is australia??

    send it to me and ill do it 4 ya lol
     
  8. Polska thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro - RJ
    #8
    Pac,

    That could be a reason!! I downloaded Region X but he asks to confirm that my DVD Drive is Region Free, which is not. How can I make it region Free? It's a Macbook Pro DVD (not DL). Could you help me?

    Thanks!
    Erick Pessôa
     
  9. yeroen macrumors 6502a

    yeroen

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
  10. Polska thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro - RJ
    #10
    Yoren,

    Every time I try MacTheRipper he extracts but by the end it says that the DVD has bad sectors and when I try to convert it to a M4V file, Handbrake says that the Source was not found.

    Erick Pessôa
     
  11. Polska thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro - RJ
    #11
    The Final Solution

    Hi all.

    Pac gave me the the reason of the problem; being set to Region 1, Handbrake does not rip other Region's DVD. What I'm doing now is the following:
    - In my Vista computer (regular PC) I rip the Region 4 DVD using AnyDVD with CloneDVD, ripping the Main Title to an external drive.
    - I plug the external drive to my Macbook Pro and convert it with Handbrake. It worked fine.

    Thanks for the help!

    Erick Pessôa
    Brazil
     

Share This Page