How to save SSD space

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by eliteeli, Mar 4, 2014.

1. eliteeli macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

So I'm new to Mac, and I have the tiny SSD drive (128) on my rMBP. What are some good tips for saving space?

Also, I recently used iPhoto for some editing and iMovie to make a short video. I deleted all of the pictures I used, but I hear that iPhoto stores copies, and I still see iPhoto library in my pictures tab. How can I delete ALL data associated with both iPhoto and iMovie? I'm really unfamiliar with how OS X manages data. Where are all the copies and caches stored and how do I get rid of them?

Thanks

2. simon48 macrumors 65816

simon48

The iPhoto data is stored in [your users folder]/Pictures/iPhoto Library.

I haven't used iMovie in a long time, but the data should be somewhere in [your users folder]/Movies.

I would recommend keeping all your photos in iPhoto and deleting any duplicates outside of iPhoto as iPhoto is a great for organizing and keeping track of all your photos.

As for saving space, the best tip I have is to run DaisyDisk (the free version will work fine) to see where your space is being used up.

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Get an external drive and move some of the larger media files over to that. iPhoto, iMovie as you mentioned but also check out your iTunes library

Download and use OmniDiskSweeper. It will provide a sorted list of what's consuming your space and is handy to identify what can be moved and/or deleted to save space.

One caveat, don't go after anything in the root directory, i.e., /Library or /System - that would be bad

4. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

Macman45

I'd second what Maflynn says above. I have a 500GB SSD in my rMBP, but I coupled it from day one with a WD 2TB USB3 external. In your case space is even more important.

Your iTunes and photo libraries can be exported and stored on an external drive, leaving the 128GB free for documents and daily tasking.