How to see how much cache HDD is registering

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by aaronw1986, Mar 4, 2008.

  1. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #1
    I just got my new mac pro!!! I'm about to format a 1TB drive. How do I check if it's registering as having 32MB of cache?
     
  2. Jonny427 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #2
    Apple icon > about this computer > more info > click on Storage
     
  3. aaronw1986 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #3
    Intel ESB2 AHCI:

    Vendor: Intel
    Product: ESB2 AHCI
    Speed: 3.0 Gigabit
    Description: AHCI Version 1.10 Supported

    ST31000340AS:

    Capacity: 931.51 GB
    Model: ST31000340AS
    Revision: SD04
    Serial Number: 3QJ01HRB
    Native Command Queuing: Yes
    Queue Depth: 32
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk0
    Bay Name: "Bay 1"
    Mac OS 9 Drivers: No
    Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified
    Volumes:
    1TB:
    Capacity: 931.19 GB
    Available: 910.68 GB
    Writable: Yes
    File System: Journaled HFS+
    BSD Name: disk0s2
    Mount Point: /

    Doesn't tell me about the cache.
     
  4. jabrowntx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #4
  5. aaronw1986 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #5
  6. Jonny427 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #6
    Isn't the "Queue Depth: 32" the indicator of a 32mb cache? Or am I wrong?
     
  7. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #7
    Queue Depth is the number of commands that can be on the queue at any one time, to be scheduled with NCQ (Native Command Queuing). It's not related to the cache.

    How you tell how much cache is detected I have no idea. The cache isn't exposed to the operating system anyway is it?
     

Share This Page