How to set up bitlbee?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by daigo, Sep 23, 2009.

  1. daigo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    #1
    Hey, I got a brand new MacBook Pro and I've never used Mac before.

    I'm a BSD user, and for Bitlbee I use inetd but I hear Mac uses xinetd and I have never used xinetd before.

    I have xinetd installed on my Mac, but I have no idea where all the config files are because all the directories are different.

    I got Bitlbee installed through Ports and I edited the config in /opt/local/etc/bitlbee.conf and I added a file for Bitlbee's xinetd.d in /etc/xinetd.d/ircd:

    Code:
    service ircd
    {
            socket_type     = stream
            protocol        = tcp
            wait            = no
            user            = bitlbee
            server          = /opt/local/sbin/bitlbee
            port            = 6668
            disable         = no
            bind            = localhost
    }
    
    But when I fire up my IRC client and try to connect to localhost or 127.0.0.1, it refuses my connection.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Johnathan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #2
    are you sure you have xinetd?

    xinetd was unincluded starting with Leopard... Apple prefers to use this thing called launchd.. to make bitlbee use launchd you need to convert that xinetd bit above into plist format, just use /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/telnetd.plist as a template or something.. or review the launchd.plist manpage. after you do that, you can use launchctl to start the daemon.

    -j
     
  3. daigo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    #3
    With the template, how do I add stuff in like protocol and bind and the other options not there?
     
  4. Johnathan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #4

    try this?

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> 
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd  
    "> 
    <plist version="1.0"> 
    <dict> 
            <key>Label</key> 
            <string>org.bitlbee.bitlbee</string> 
            <key>OnDemand</key> 
            <true/> 
            <key>ProgramArguments</key> 
            <array> 
                    <string>/opt/local/sbin/bitlbee</string> 
            </array> 
            <key>ServiceDescription</key> 
            <string>bitlbee irc-im proxy</string> 
            <key>Sockets</key> 
            <dict> 
                    <key>Listener</key> 
                    <dict> 
                            <key>SockFamily</key> 
                            <string>IPv4</string> 
                            <key>SockProtocol</key> 
                            <string>TCP</string> 
                            <key>SockServiceName</key> 
                            <string>6667</string> 
                            <key>SockType</key> 
                            <string>stream</string> 
                    </dict> 
            </dict> 
            <key>inetdCompatibility</key> 
            <dict> 
                    <key>Wait</key> 
                    <false/> 
            </dict> 
            <key>UserName</key> 
            <string>bitlbee</string> 
    </dict> 
    </plist>
     
  5. daigo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    #5
    Alright, so I made a file named ircd in ~/Library/LaunchAgents/ and put all of that in there. I rebooted because I have no idea how to work launchd, but it still won't work. Is there anything else I have to do?

    Here is my bitlbee config:

    Code:
    RunMode = inetd
    User = bitlbee
    AuthMode = Open
    OperPassword = passwordhere
    ConfigDir = /var/lib/bitlbee
    
     
  6. Johnathan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #6

    the ~/Library/LaunchAgents is more for cronjob type stuff, this is a daemon, so save all the plist information to a file called

    /Library/LaunchDaemons/org.bitlbee.bitlbee.plist

    and then run it by typing

    sudo launchctl load /Library/LaunchDaemons/org.bitlbee.bitlbee.plist

    or you could just reboot, this should get loaded on reboot.

    -j
     

Share This Page