How to show desktop

Discussion in 'macOS' started by sOwL, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. sOwL macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Nerd Cave
    #1
    ive been wondering if theres any way to make some keyboard shortcuts universal so they work with full-screen applications. Well, im not much of a gamer myself, but i find it annoying on not being able to switch to desktop to view something while in-game. Some games support the cmd+m or cmh+h command, but many out there just dont. Any way to make those work for everything? or any other suggestions?
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  3. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #3
    Switch to Finder as the active app, then Cmd-Option-h.
     
  4. sOwL thread starter macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Nerd Cave
    #4
    nope, f11 doesnt works.

    switching to finder means to use the cmd+tab shortcut, which wont work either..
     
  5. pjrobertson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #5
    Go into your keyboard shortcuts and have a look there (in the keyboard pref pane)

    Under 'Dock, Exposé, and Dashboard' check the shortcut for 'desktop'

    If you have a newer mac / keyboard, CMD + exposé shortcut (F3) brings up the desktop
     
  6. sOwL thread starter macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Nerd Cave
    #6
    well for my mac its the f11 button. But you dont get my point, i know which the shortcuts are, i just cant get them to work universal, like while running a full-screen application
     
  7. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    I think you might be out of luck, the fullscreen app may not be able to recognize the shortcuts.
     
  8. H&Kie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    #8
    In case you've got a new (aluminum) keyboard, does fn+F11 work? Most function keys are now dedicated to e.g. changing sound volume.

    This can be overridden by the "fn" button or disabled in system preferences>Mouse and Keyboard>Keyboard

    And, as said by pjrobertson, cmd+F3 also works fine
     
  9. pjrobertson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #9
    Oh I see now.

    How about adding a custom keyboard shortcut JUST for the app you're running (if you give us a name we may be able to help more)...

    Are there any menu shortcuts that you know of?
     

Share This Page