how to speed up my internet

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by homrb, Oct 4, 2010.

  1. homrb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #1
    Hello, I'm not exactly sure what category this should be listed under so feel free to correct. I am wondering how I can speed up my internet. On speedtest.com is says that I have a 10.71 mbps download and 1.34 mbps upload but for some reason my internet is always slow to load web pages etc. There a quite a few internet connected devices in my house (up to ten (iphones computers, xbox), but not all being used at once of course, with 2 Airport Extreme base stations.) Is this an interference problem or what? Is there a program that shows all internet activity throughout the network so I can monitor it. Please help and thanks!
     
  2. homrb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #3
    Yes... but how? I have a good speed from my ISP.
     
  3. No1nfoProvided macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #4
    I'm guessing this isn't consistent with other devices/computers. Try another browser (Chrome's pretty quick, but I still use Safari; I feel like Firefox blows on the Mac) and see if it works faster. It's most likely a problem with your computer and a reformat would probably fix everything, but I dunno. Need more info :D.
     
  4. homrb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #5
    ok thanks ill try that. Does anyone know of a program that can track what activity is going through my network from all devices to see if something with another device is going on?
     
  5. No1nfoProvided macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #6
    Your router firmware, if you use tomato or DD-WRT can detect that. It shows you all the devices connected to it and how much bandwidth it's using.
     
  6. homrb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #7
    So if my router was a Time Capsule, I couldnt do this?
     
  7. No1nfoProvided macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #8

Share This Page