How to start using it?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by stark4, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. stark4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    Hey i just received my ipad that i bought from ebay but when i turned it on all i see is and itunes icon and and usb plug... so i don't know what to do.

    is it suppose to be like that?

    The manual said to connect to itunes but i'm scared to do it because i'm planing to jailbreak it so if i connect to itunes is it gonna download the latest version automatically?
     
  2. melman101 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #2
    Well, you have two choices.

    1. Don't connect it, and you can't use it.
    2. Connect it, and don't allow it to update, and bam, you are good to go. It will ask if you want to download and install the new software. Just say no.
     
  3. bluedog3401 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #3
    Nope, you can simply cancel the update dialog that pops up. Be sure to try and backup the SHSH using Google's Umbrella or within Cydia so you can downgrade to the version of the iOS you currently have in the future. Its basically backing up a signature of your specific device to be able to downgrade after Apple stops allowing for past versions of the OS.

    Enjoy your device. If it is saying it needs to be restored, then you might want to look into downloading the 3.2.1 OS by googling for it. I suggest searching for "ipad firmware download". If its simply saying it wishes to activate the device you should be good to go by connecting it.
     
  4. stark4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    ^^ ok thanks but what i don't understand is why is it telling me to connect to itunes? isn't it suppose to work right out of the box?

    do you think the selling erase the OS? if so if i dont download the lastest OS again i can't use it right? ahh
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    You need iTunes to activate the iPad, just like with iPod Touches and iPhones.

    You can jailbreak it any time after that.
     
  6. stark4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    ^^ isn't the ipad activated already since i bought it used?
     
  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #7
    Maybe it was wiped? It does show the iTunes icon and a USB icon on the screen of the iPad, doesn't it?

    If you follow the instructions laid out for you in this thread, you can still jailbreak that thing. If you don't connect it to iTunes, you won't be able to use it.

    Btw, this seems a bit fishy to me right now. Is the iPad stolen or do you suspect it to be?
     
  8. mrj412 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #8
    The seller would have been a fool to send it to you activated with their account. They most likely did a reset to default and its ready for you to activate.

    I am going to be the jerk to say this: If your not comfortable with this part, I don't think you should start jailbreaking your iPad.
     
  9. stark4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    ok thanks.. i'll try to connect to itunes and see what happens..

    i hope it's not a stolen ipad.. maybe the seller just wanna wipe his personal info..
     
  10. stark4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    i just connected to my macbook and now i can use it.. i didn't do any updates either..

    i'm just wondering why is it required to connect to the computer before you use it? what's the purpose of it?

    Thanks
     
  11. tekchic macrumors 65816

    tekchic

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #11
    Is this your first i-Device? So far my iPhone 3G, iPhone 4, and iPad have all required that brand new out of the box. I believe Apple wants you to activate the device before using it.

    I'm selling my 3G - did a full "reset all settings" wipe, and that's the screen that is displayed when I sell it on Craigslist to someone. It's pretty common.
     

Share This Page