How to "stress" your mac?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by TheShinyMac, Aug 24, 2009.

  1. TheShinyMac macrumors 6502a

    TheShinyMac

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys do any of you know any ways to stress my mac. I just want to see how it handles under those conditions
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  3. imfrog2002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #3
    Parallels + MMORPG on the VM, then a full HD movie in iTunes, fullscreen, iMovie, and Handbrake both encoding, and a graphic intense game on the Mac. My top of the line iMac can't handle a VM and iMovie, so that would push it to it's limits. You might even have to force restart. ;) Up to you if you want to try it, though.
     
  4. TheShinyMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TheShinyMac

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #4
    Ok so I dont have any software like parallels and such. Are there any terminal codes.
     
  5. mbsaeger macrumors 6502

    mbsaeger

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #5
    Handbrake is free, and almost did it for me, along with iTunes email, ichat, safari, firefox, imovie, adobe photoshop cs4. It was pretty slow, I have a the newest iMac, with the lowest spec' and SL dev preview.... I'm going to format and reinstall SL though on FRI.
     
  6. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #6
    rember which tests ram

    cputest which is like prime95 found on windows

    both will make your machine flex
     

Share This Page