How to successfully install Yosemite?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by MacBookWhooo, Jul 26, 2014.

  1. MacBookWhooo macrumors newbie

    MacBookWhooo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Location:
    Philippines
    #1
    Hi,

    I currently have OS X Mavericks installed on a MacBook Pro 13" (Late 2013). I also have Windows 8.1 installed under Boot Camp. A few hours ago, I received an e-mail from Apple inviting me to try out OS X Yosemite. I was just wondering if it is possible to make a new partition and just dual-boot Yosemite? I have a saved game on Windows 8.1, Watch_Dogs and I don't want my progress to be lost that is why I can't afford to delete my Boot Camp partition. I haven't backed up my OS X Mavericks installation as well.

    Thanks.

    MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Late 2013), OS X Mavericks (10.9.2)
     
  2. aleni macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #2
    count yourself lucky today because of me reading your question.

    i got mavericks, and windows 7 bootcamp, partitioned my drive and installed yosemite earlier this morning. all went fine, except i can't boot into bootcamp anymore. probably a messed up boot loader. don't know what to do, the bootcamp disk is still there but when i pressed opt at the boot screen, windows 7 doesn't show up anymore.

    so, make sure you clone your bootcamp partition using winclone app before trying yosemite on a new partition.
     
  3. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #3
    I'd recommend, wholeheartedly, that you see if you can find an external drive to install Yosemite on. As the other person mentioned, you will probably lose your Boot Camp partition in the process of partitioning and separating things out on the same drive.
     
  4. TruckdriverSean, Jul 26, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2014

    TruckdriverSean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas, US
    #4
    IIRC, Bootcamp will NOT work on a drive with more than one extra partition. (Not counting hidden recovery partition)

    So Bootcamp + OSX = No problems

    But Bootcamp + OSX + anything else = Bootcamp will FAIL

    So you'll need to install Yosemite over Mavericks, or add another drive.

    Someone correct me if I'm wrong about this.

    Sean
     
  5. nexus4life macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    #5
    Fundamental rules of computing rule #1: Backup. Backup a lot. Backup whether or not you intend to change anything partition-wise. Backups are insurance; how useless if you don't have it set up.

    Time machine for mac section.
    Something like Paragon HDD-Manager for the windows part or for the entire disk.

    Unfortunately, you will need to make this entire disk backup if you intend to install Yosemite and still at some point get your windows partition back.
     
  6. Explorz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #6
    Simple Partition Question

    OK, I've got a basic question, the answer to which is probably obvious to most. But I can't seem to wrap my head around it.

    If I install the Beta on a partition, and boot into that partition, will I have access to all of my normal applications and data?

    Will my email accounts all be there when I open mail?

    If I use the Beta over the next month or so, what will I lose when I delete that partition when I'm ready to upgrade to the final release over Mavericks?

    I saw an article that said not to transfer settings to the Yosemite Beta when I install it on a new partition. That seems like odd advice.

    Thanks for guidance.
     
  7. nexus4life macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    #7
    No. It will be a fresh install. You may be able to access data from your Mavericks partition, but nothing will be there by default. Not mail, not anything (unless you sign in with iCloud, then iCloud mail will be there). Must all be setup.

    You will lose everything if you delete the partition. If you delete your current mavericks partition and upgrade the Beta to the final release, then nothing.
     
  8. Explorz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #8
    I wouldn't imagine that I'd ever want to delete the Mavericks partition since that is where all of my apps live.

    So, when I boot into the Yosemite partition I won't see my user folder? I'd have to create an entirely new account?

    I can't see how people are then creating Yosemite partitions and getting anything done if they don't have access to any of their 3rd party apps, user folder, music library, etc...

    What am I missing here?
     
  9. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #9
    A lot of the time, you can use Spotlight to bring up programs and files that reside on the Mavericks partition.
     
  10. nexus4life macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    #10
    Most are installing Yosemite over their current Mavericks install (which is not advised without backing up, but just read the forums to see how many people make this mistake.)

    If you have internet access, then just like any other fresh install of OS X you re-download everything. You might be able to copy things over from mavericks or access folder from mavericks, but who knows if it will work for you - and if nothing else, things won't be where you want them to be if it does work.
     
  11. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #11
    I installed Yosemite on an external SSD and when I booted it the first time, I copied all my data, settings, and apps over from my internal SSD with Mavericks on it.

    That way it was like an upgrade or a restore from Time Machine, while keeping my primary Mavericks install safe and separate from the beta.
     
  12. nexus4life macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    #12
    AKA the smart man's way of doing it. :)
     
  13. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #13
    Yep. I wasn't taking any chances of losing my stuff to a beta. Even with a backup, I played it safe.
     
  14. Explorz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #14
    That's what I was originally imaging with the second partition. Wouldn't the Yosemite install ask if I want to copy over all my apps and data and settings?

    But that would basically double the data on my mac. Yes?
     
  15. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #15
    If you're doing that on the same drive, different partitions, then yes, it would double the storage used.

    I used a totally separate SSD altogether, so I didn't use up any extra space on my primary SSD and it didn't mess with my Boot Camp partition either.
     
  16. Explorz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #16
    Clean Install or upgrade Mavericks?

    I have a full backup on my Mavericks installation.

    I plan on installing Yosemite on my main hard drive on a non-production machine. It is a late 2008 15 inch MBP with 8 gb ram.

    If I do a clean install and then port over all my applications, settings and documents from my Time Machine Backup, is that preferable to simply upgrading Mavericks?

    Has anyone installed this way and did anything NOT get transferred over from the TM Backup?

    I know that some applications like Photoshop sometimes have registration errors when importing using Migration Assistant.

    Thanks.
     
  17. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #17
    That's similar to what I did. Once I booted up Yosemite, I migrated all the stuff from my Mavericks back up and everything made it over just fine.
     
  18. robertosh macrumors 6502a

    robertosh

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    Spain
    #18
    Why not to backup your Watch Dogs savagames... :confused:
     

Share This Page