How to switch audio output...?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Jimmy Guphanti, Jan 17, 2012.

  1. Jimmy Guphanti macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #1
    How can I switch the audio output from line out (headphones) to the internal speakers without unplugging the mic. When I plug in the mic, the internal speakers option in System Preferences goes away. It is inconvenient to reach all the way around the back of the computer to unplug the headphones and then have the wire fall behind the desk and have to reach down and pick it up EVERY SINGLE TIME I want to switch outputs. There has got to be a way. Does anyone know?
    Thanks.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    The physical plug enables/disables the internal speakers. You can't do it without unplugging.
     
  3. Heebeejeebies macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    There's an app for that.

    -Edit-

    Scratch that. That only helps with the input...
     
  4. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #4
    System Preferences>Sound>Output.
    No app needed.
    Also tweak input to whatever is plugged in.

    ----------

    Can't you just change the selection after the device is plugged in?
    Plugged in (Enabled default)
    Open prefs and change to desired.
    Works on Macbook and Mac Pro.
     
  5. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #5
    If you hold Option while Clicking the speaker on the Menu Bar, you can switch without having to open System Preferences.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    When you plug in, the "Internal speakers" option becomes "Headphones", and "Internal speakers" is no longer an option. So you can't select both or select the internal speakers if the headphones or speaker is plugged in. At least that's how it works on my Macs.
    As you can see from your screen capture, Headphones are the only choice for output. Internal speakers is not available until you unplug the headphones/speakers.
     
  7. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #7
    Great tip. Volumes always hidden for me though. External DAC's made me stop using.
     
  8. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #8
    Mine too....The plug activates the feature....I've never seen any way around it, but can't say that I've needed to.
     
  9. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #9
    Your right. That's a lame function. I was thinking "Line out" and "Headphones" and the rest of my gear. iMac's have "Line in" and "Headphones" only. Maybe OP needs a Mac Pro;) They have line out, line in, and headphone up front. Headphone jack up front still controls the internal speaker. OP can get something like an iMic for 20.00 and have another USB/Optical in and out.
     
  10. robgendreau macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #10
    It's lame and no way around short of some hardware tweaking.

    Once you discover it you eventually wind up going to USB headphones; I use the ones I use with my PS3. Plantronics had a nice adapter that allowed a stereo mini on one end and USB on the other.
     
  11. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #11
    Ok, I'm being slow today. Got what you're saying. Hell, now I want to know how to switch.
    My Klipsch Pro-Medias show up as headphones, I hadn't really paid attention before.
     
  12. Jimmy Guphanti thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #12
    I just found this thread from a long time ago that I started by searching for this topic on Google. In the time since I started this thread, I have purchased a pair of Plantronics USB headphones, and the problem has been solved some-what, as now I can switch output sources without unplugging the headphones, but 3.5 mm headphones still have the same problem. Through some testing, I noticed that on the same computer on Boot Camp, Windows 7 allows me to do this with 3.5 mm headphones, without plugging, so it must be a software thing.
     
  13. Jimmy Guphanti thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #13
    Windows 7 on Boot Camp lets you do this.
     
  14. Drummerbexx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    #14
    Might be a little late but I figured this out from another post. Set up a Multi output device in the MIDI menu in your utilities folder.
     

Share This Page