How to Sync old iTouch 2g and new iTouch 3g

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by pectin232, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. pectin232 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #1
    One is a 32GB version and another is a 64gb version. Both are nearly identical except for outlook contacts... can I just sync it with iTunes with no problems. Suggestions?
     
  2. dvdhsu macrumors 6502a

    dvdhsu

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #2
    Back the old one up, and when you plug the new one in, it should give you an option to restore from that backup.
     
  3. pectin232 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #3
    problem is I am keeping the old 2nd generation 32GB iTouch and also the new iTouch 64 GB is also used at the same time. It is for work purposes relating to database sync and developement.
     
  4. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #4
    No problem. Do as dvdhsu says, and the old one will keep working, and the new one will have all the same settings as the old one.
     
  5. pectin232 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #5
    Even if the old iTouch is 32GB and the new one is 64GB? Thanks again.
     
  6. dvdhsu macrumors 6502a

    dvdhsu

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #6
    As Night Spring has confirmed, yes.
     
  7. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #7
    Yes. It even works if one is an iPhone and one is an iPod touch. I've copied a backup from 16GB 1st gen touch to 8GB iPhone to 32 GB 2nd gen touch to 16 GB iPhone and now to 32 GB 3rd gen touch. :D
     

Share This Page