How to take control of a mac remotely

Discussion in 'macOS' started by franklebel, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. franklebel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    #1
    Hi,
    im looking for a program or a way of taking control of a mac.
    i would be at home and the computer i would be working with would be at my job. i work for a print company and i would work with adobe cs4, quark and suitcase remotely.

    first of all is this possible and if yes how to do it.
    the company will pay for the software necessary to accomplish this so if anyone knows anything about this please post.
    thanks
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    You won't be able to work remotely in any sort of useful way with the kind of applications you're talking about.

    Remote working is fine for simple things, word processing, email, spreadsheets, coding. Graphic heavy stuff requiring high colour, and lots of full screen refreshes will be unbearable.
     
  3. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #3
    It can be done and the software is included in os x to do it. However as mentioned above it will be very slow. It would be easier for them to give you a mbp with the right software installed and a dropbox account
     
  4. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #4
    I used Photoshop and InDesign via the Back to My Mac feature of MobileMe just the other day. It was slow (in part because my internet connection was kind of slow) and a little annoying, but it was something that I had to get done and I was able to.

    For everyday use, I would not recommend any sort of remote use. The best thing to do (as mentioned above) would be to have CS4 on another computer, work on it, then transfer the files via MobileMe or DropBox back to the work computer (or any server the work computer is connected to, if you're using MM).
     
  5. franklebel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    #5
    update on what we need to do

    i have all the production software on my home computer

    what would be even simpler would be to be able to access our production server remotely.
    we use a g4 with an external hard drive which has all the files we need.

    how could i access the g4's external hard drive from my house so that i dont have to upload the job files onto ftp then onto my home computer then back onto the ftp and then back to the hard drive???

    thanks
     
  6. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    You need to speak with your network administrator. There are a few options, some which may or may not be available to you.

    VPN is one option. But without knowing more about your network situation it would be difficult to make useful suggestions.

    If you have a network or IT admin, I would speak with him or her about what you would like to do.
     
  7. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #7
    FTP could work if it were set up better. But a VPN would make it just like you were on the office network, although it would be slower. Then you'd see the "shared folder" on your desktop. However I'm shur you can get the shared folder on the desktop with FTP too.
     
  8. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #8
    You should just be able SSH into the server at work and copy the files over from it using scp or something. Failing that just connect using an SFTP client (not FTP) and you will be able to achieve the same goal.
     
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    Logmein.com has a free mac client that you can use to connect to your mac from work.
     
  10. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #10
    try teamviewer, www.teamviewer.com, its very good i use it all the time! i love it. you can adjust the speed, the quality, everything, send messages to the remote computer, transfer files, it is truly great. i find it more suitable when your connect to a remote mac, as they are fast and the mouse doesnt flicker like on windows. you can control a pc from a mac, and a mac from a pc. download it, its free, and free for life. you need to get this, i rate this a 1m out of 10.
     
  11. toxotis70 macrumors member

    toxotis70

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    athens, greece
    #11
    I have teamviewr tooo, ita a very simple and quick programmm.
    But i cant wake my remote mac if its on sleep mode.
    Is there any solution for this ?
     
  12. franklebel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    #12
    thanks

    thank you everyone for being soo helpful.
    unfortunately we do not have a IT dept where i work. we're only 20 employees. but i will look into sftp.
    ill also check out teamviewer for sure.

    thanks again
     

Share This Page