how to tell if a display has pass or fail gradient test?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Macbie, Jun 18, 2007.

  1. Macbie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #1
  2. yagran macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, East Sussex, UK
    #2
    pfft, i guess my ACD 23" passes..smooth as a babies bum
     
  3. Macbie thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #3
    that's why i'm not sure how to read the test result:(
     
  4. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #4
    I am also confused by this.

    I see a thick horizontal line through the green area on my MBP, does that mean the display is faulty or is this 'expected'? :confused: What do other people see?
     
  5. blaaat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #5
    I have a horizontal line in the green area on my MBP too.

    edit: I also see a 'faulty' red upper left corner.
    My MB does not have the green line, but does have the red thing.

    Both my external screens show it smooth
     
  6. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #6
    Yes I have the dodgy upper red corner too and when you run all the different transitions of it there is always the thick line through the greens. Is this indicative of a fault then, or is this normal? Can someone please explain what I'm "supposed" to see as I've not run these tests before. :confused:
     
  7. thegrandmaster macrumors regular

    thegrandmaster

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Location:
    Valhalla!
    #7
    I don't know what it means but I get no lines or 'funny red corner' on my iBook or iMac G5. In case that helps. :eek:
     
  8. AngelGuy7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    I have the exact same issue. In the red corner I have a decent solid red triangle, same in the blue. In the green area (about 35%-40% from the bottom of the image to the top) there's a solid line (about 2 or 3 pixels thick) that spans from the left to the right.

    I'm also wondering if this proves that my LCD is defective because I've also been experiencing the yellowish tint toward the botttom of my display that people are complaining about on other threads.

    Does anyone have an LCD that does not have this gradient issue? Preferably an LCD that also does not exhibit a yellowish tint toward the bottom.
     
  9. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #9
    isnt the reason CRT > LCD because of this fact?

    its hard to recreate an "analog" idea of smoothness from one color to the next with something 100% digital in nature: LCDs.


    its why even the best plasma/lcd/dlp HDTV, imo, sucks compared to good ol CRT.
     
  10. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #10
    I don't see that line on my iMac G5 or my LCD monitor at work, only on the MBP.
     
  11. techmonkey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #11
    What exactly does this test say? I have the horizontal line on the green gradient, and a curve on the blue gradient. Im been pretty happy with my MBP so far. Ive never noticed anything weird when viewing photographs, etc.

    What will these lines effect with daily use?
     
  12. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #12
    Then it's likely that you have 2 8-bit screens and 1 6-bit screen (on the MBP). The 8-bit screens can display 256 levels of each colour resulting in 256*256*256 colours (so the full 24-bit range or 16.7 million distinct colours). The 6-bit screen can display 64 levels of each colour resulting in 64*64*64 (or 262144 distinct colours).

    The 6-bit screen displays the "missing" colours via a dithering mechanism. Normally this is fine and you'd not notice it, but under an extreme test like this you can see the artefacts.
     
  13. aaron.lee2006 macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #13
    You guys just have to go looking for trouble don't you...
     
  14. sevimli macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #14
    Then please explain me why you dont see very smooth, perfect screen just after changing color profile to RGBs and restart? after restarting you can switch back to your old profile, and you won't see any problem, to sum up this is not the BIT issue. :cool:
     
  15. PimpDaddy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
  16. katorga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #16
    Only one 8 bit laptop screen

    Always complaining. As far as I know all but one laptop use 6 bit screens. IBM offers/ed a IPS screen option on Thinkpads for a while. It could do 8 bit, but its other negatives made it a wash.

    External LCD panels are 8 bit and can display a full 24-bit color range

    LCD TVs can be 10 bit, not sure what that gets you over 8 bit though.

    Every single laptop vendor lists their 6-bit screens as capable of 16.7 million colors, which is not actually true.
     
  17. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #17
    I think you have a special screen
     
  18. techmonkey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #18
    So are you saying this is normal?
     
  19. letswastetime macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    #19
    my screen is perfect, no lines or anything. not exactly sure what this is supposed to show though. :confused:
     
  20. Ish macrumors 68000

    Ish

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    Bright red/blue/green in three corners, darker bottom right corner, all blend together, no lines or rectangles. 1.67 G4 PB. Hopefully that's good.
     
  21. techmonkey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #21
    If I change my color profile to "Generic RGB", its very obvious. Its not really lines, rather the seperator from on group of colors to the next.
     
  22. mrb2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #22
    Weird, but it worked for me!!! After changing the color profile and setting it back after a restart the "test" shows no issues anymore.

    Thanks dude for the tip!:D
     

Share This Page