How to test new RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ohla313, Jul 5, 2011.

  1. ohla313 macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #1
    My Crucial 8GB RAM came in the mail today and I am eager to install it but am not sure how I should go about testing the RAM? What is the process in doing so?

    Thanks!
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Install it. Turn on you Mac. Does it boot? First test passed. Go to Activity Monitor and see how much is registering on the Memory tab.
     
  3. Pentad macrumors 6502a

    Pentad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
    #3
    If the memory is really bad your MBP will either not see it or you will experience crashes, KPs, and other bizarre issues.

    To really test the memory you can try some suggestions here.
     
  4. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #4
    Great! thanks guys! I was worried cuz I looked at the link you posted and it was telling to try memtest86? But I will jut install and see instead.
     
  5. fat jez macrumors 68000

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #5
    memtest86 is an excellent tool which comes on a cut down linux iso which you burn to disc and then boot. It then proceeds to hammer you RAM, testing for errors.
     
  6. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #6
    This is weird....after I installed the new RAM it still shows 4GB RAM. What did I do wrong??
     
  7. fat jez macrumors 68000

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #7
    Check you have seated both RAM modules properly and that the clips have engaged to hold them in place.
     
  8. ohla313, Jul 5, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2011

    ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #8
    ^perfect! that was it. I re-seated them and it is now showing 8GB of RAM on my system. But another problem arose...

    For some reason I lost 4GB of hard drive space after this install.. What caused this??
     
  9. jim2008 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #9
    The best way to test memory is to use Apple Hardware Test disc comes with the computer. Choose extended test to do a full memory test.
     
  10. riptideMBP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #10
    you lost hard drive space because osx stores image of the ram on the hard disk every time it goes to sleep. Since the physical ram went from 4GB to 8GB, the sleep image had to do the same.
     
  11. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #11
    oh so this is completely normal? I never knew that before. Thank you!
     
  12. redsteven macrumors 6502a

    redsteven

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #13
    And if you hit the "L" key you can enable looping in Apple Hardware Test
     
  13. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #14
    so this is on the Snow Leopard install disc that came with my Mac?
     
  14. redsteven macrumors 6502a

    redsteven

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #15
    Boot the DVD in your drive and start up holding the "D" key.

    Yes, D, as in Diagnostics. Not C.



    Alternatively, you could try just holding down D on startup without any disc in your drive. I believe some macs have the hardware test built-in. I know mine can do it, even without the DVD.
    If that doesn't work, then use the DVD (make sure to use the one that came with your computer. If you picked up a retail Snow Leopard DVD it probably won't work)
     
  15. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #16
    but this should all be done in case the RAM is making the computer act funny? I haven't experienced any problems yet. I re-seated the RAM and it shows up as 7.75 total RAM.
     
  16. NeverhadaPC macrumors 6502

    NeverhadaPC

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    #17
    An Apple 'genius' told me yesterday that installing your own RAM on a Mid-2009 MBP would void the warranty... surely that is BS, right? RIGHT!

    I feel like Apple stores are becoming less useful and full of nerdy fanboys, who know ***** about computers and actually problems...
     
  17. fat jez macrumors 68000

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #18
    Tell him to go and read the user guide that comes with it then, where there are instructions for upgrading both RAM and hard disk.
     
  18. head honcho 123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #19
    it's show 7.75 total RAM because some of the RAM is being used by the integrated GPU.

    completely normal.
     
  19. head honcho 123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #20
    as riptideMBP mentioned... u lost 4 GB on the hard drive because when ur macbook goes into hibernation mode, it saves all the content that's on the RAM into ur hard drive.

    this is because once power is out (no battery and/or no AC power) RAM is volatile memory and it will be erased (unlike SSDs or HDDs) and to not lose ur content Mac OS X saves ur RAM content on the HDD (or SSD).
     
  20. head honcho 123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #21
    and another tip for everyone.

    if u don't wanna pay for memtest86, you can just download a ISO of the latest Ubuntu OS from http://www.ubuntu.com/download/ubuntu/download

    the ISO contains memtest and u can run it by booting up from the ISO
     
  21. fat jez macrumors 68000

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #22
    pay?!? Click on the link that says free download on the memtest86 page and burn the iso to disc and boot from it. Job done.
     
  22. head honcho 123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #23
    oops! sorry abt that :)
     
  23. fat jez macrumors 68000

    fat jez

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #24
    No probs, I thought they had decided to start charging for it :)
     
  24. head honcho 123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #25
    okay for some reason i ran both memtests86 and memtest86+, but they both do not work on my MBP 2011 2.3 Ghz i7.

    The both freeze and don't do anything...

    Is this happening to anyone else?
     

Share This Page