How to: Tether your iPhone to your Mac for internet access

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by guitarmaster18, Aug 24, 2007.

  1. guitarmaster18 macrumors regular

    guitarmaster18

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #1
    Okay, so looking around I saw that there have been alot of threads about tethering your iphone to your mac... Most without an answer. I am sure that there are alot of people wanting to do this out there, so I created this tutorial for those who don't have computer science degrees

    Key: []= keystroke
    ""= code

    Ok, step one
    Download the tetherkit from here.
    Now that you have that, open up a terminal window and type cd Desktop. then, type cd tetherkit-osx. Then, type "chmod u+x * [return]"

    Step two.
    Move the jailbreak that is in the tetherkit folder out on to you desktop. Now, go to your phonedmg folder. Take your jailbreak out and put it somewhere safe. Now move the jailbreak that is on your desktop in to the phonedmg folder. Now type "cd ~/phonedmg [return]" in terminal.

    Step three
    Type "./jailbreak [return]" and follow the directions to jailbreak your phone.
    *Important* When I did this, it got stuck at "Waiting for the iphone to finish booting." If it does this to you, wait for your iphone to boot into its normal screen, then press [control+c] to quit jailbreak.

    Step four
    Now that your phone has been jailbroken using the modded jailbreak, type "cd ~/Desktop/tetherkit-osx [return]" in your terminal window. Then, type "./tetherify-osx-intel.sh [return]." Follow the onscreen directions.

    Step five
    Now, you are ready to tether! Ok, first create an ad-hoc network by clicking on your airport icon, and clicking "create network". Name it whatever you like. Now, Go into system preferences. Hit the Network icon, then select Airport, then click Configure. In the window, select TCP/IP. Swich the "Configure IPv4" option to manual. Now, for the IP address, type in 10.3.3.1 (this is not your iphones ip). And for the subnet mask, type in 255.255.255.0
    Now, switch to the "Proxies" tab. Scroll down until you see "SOCKS Proxy". Now, select that. Now we need your iphone. On your phone, go into settings, and click on Wifi. Join the ad-hoc network we set up earlier. Then, click the blue arrow next to it. Switch from DHCP to Static. Set the ip as 10.3.3.2 and the subnet mask as 255.255.255.0 Leave everything else blank. Now, switch back to your System Preferences window. You should already be on the proxy window. Put a check next to SOCKS proxy, and for the ip enter 10.3.3.2, and a port of 1080. Click apply now.

    Step Six

    make sure your phone is awake. Open safari. If at first your page doesent load, keep clicking refresh until you get it to load. Sometimes it does the first time, sometimes it doesent. there you go! You have successfully tethered your iphone!


    Edit: Just posted this on Modmyiphone.com too...
     
  2. racemize macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #2
    you have to be jailbroken every time you tether? or is that just to get the program installed?
     
  3. guitarmaster18 thread starter macrumors regular

    guitarmaster18

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #3
    that's only to get the program installed;)
     
  4. Juvenile macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
  5. guitarmaster18 thread starter macrumors regular

    guitarmaster18

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #5
    There are numerous guides for pcs. (like here) I created this guide for osx users, because there are not many easy to follow guides for osx.
     
  6. jmsait19 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    MO
    #6
    when you say 'then type' does it mean hit [return] before you type the next part?

    maybe some conventions are in order, such as use " to surround the actual text that is to be entered into terminal...

    maybe use [ ] to denote a key press such as [return] or [apple - q] or whatever...

    just thinking of ways to make this even easier for those who may not completely understand what is going on here and how terminal works....
     
  7. guitarmaster18 thread starter macrumors regular

    guitarmaster18

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #7
    ok, thanks for the suggestions! (editing now)

    edit: Done! Is it less confusing now?
     
  8. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #8
    PLEASE don't do it that way. That is a very sloppy way to install it. Those instructions are outdated. iPhoneInterface is old, jailbreak is old and broken ... just don't do it.

    Installer.app just released a GUI installer that will jailbreak your phone the new, good way. Not the old ./jailbreak way. Instead of "pave and replace" Microsoft style, it sets up com.apple.afc2 and ... well, basically just does it a whole lot cleaner. It will then install the Installer.app package management program. I can not stress enough how important it is that you get this program ... they maintain a repository of all software released for the iPhone, and the program checks, updates, installes, uninstalls, all without having to use the computer. Want to install Zune2.app? It will automatically download and install the program. You just have to hit install.

    I HIGHLY recommend using these instructions instead of the ones in the original post. You don't have to deal with the Terminal. Although I have no problem using the terminal, others do. Some replies in this thread prove that.

    These are instructions for a completely unhacked phone:

    1. Download AppTapp Installer from here:
    http://www.nullriver.com/~zigzag/AppTappInstaller.zip

    Run the program. It is extremely straight forward. This will install the Installer.app program on your phone. You will see a new icon on your phone for Installer.app.

    2. Using Installer.app on your iPhone, find "Community Resources" on the list under the Install tab. Tap on it, and then tap install. Then once that's installed, install all of the following:

    • BSD Subsystem
    • Term-VT100

    3. Launch Term-VT100 on your iPhone, type srelay and hit return.

    4. On your Mac, click the Wifi icon and click "Create Network..." Choose a name like iPhone or something.

    5. On your iPhone, go to Preferences -> Wifi. Connect to the network you just created, and press the little blue "(>)" next to it. Change it from DHCP to Static.

    • IP Address: 192.168.1.100
    • Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

    Then tap The <Wi-Fi Networks] button, then press the home button just for good measure.

    6. On your Mac, go to System Preferences -> Network and double click on Airport. Go to the TCP/IP tab and for Configure IPv4: select "Manually."

    • IP address: 192.168.1.101
    • Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

    Go to Proxies. Scroll down to SOCKS Proxy and check the little box next to it.

    • IP address: 192.168.1.100
    • Port: 1080

    Hit "Apply Now" ... Open Safari and have fun.

    Once you're done tethering, you need to uncheck SOCKS Proxy on your Mac.

    If you want to tether a second time, start at step 3.
     
  9. kellen macrumors 68020

    kellen

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9
    Any way to get the tethering via bluetooth?

    Downloading apptapp right now, first time hacking the iphone.
     
  10. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #10
    At the moment, no. It's faster via Wi-Fi anyway. Do you not have a Wi-Fi card?
     
  11. guitarmaster18 thread starter macrumors regular

    guitarmaster18

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #11
    Wow, I had never heard of that before... He's right... Do it that way! :D
     
  12. kellen macrumors 68020

    kellen

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12
    Just did a quick read of what you posted and didn't realize it was a wifi connection, just thought it was usb.

    Nice.

    Now I have put the apptapp installer and everything is fine, however do I need to load NES roms and ringtones? Nothing new comes up.
     
  13. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #13
    Refer to my instructions in this thread on how to put NES roms and such on your phone:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=344240

    Ringtones go in /var/root/Library/Ringtones
     
  14. badtz macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    #14
    is there any way to bypass typing in "srelay" in the iPhone term app?

    can the ad-hoc network spit out dhcp ip instead of static? :)
     
  15. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #15
    To be honest, I'm not even sure switching to static is necessary. Just finding the IP address of the iPhone and using that for the SOCKS Proxy should work.

    The only way I could think of bypassing the srelay thing would bring more terminal stuff in that you'd need to do. I'm not that experienced in programming, but you could probably write a program that has an icon that executes srelay, and automatically sets the iPhone to static, and the IP address and such.

    Then you'd need to get it into the Installer.app repos.

    I have no idea how to do that.
     
  16. b257177 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    #16
    You might check /Library/Ringtones vs. /var/root/Library/Ringtones. At least since 1.0.2, that's what my iPhone is using for the ringtones directory.
     
  17. jtrwallace macrumors member

    jtrwallace

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Maui, Hawaii
    #17
    When I type srelay in term vt100 it says no valid entries found. using default. no server socket prepared, exiting... cannot open server socket

    Why?
     
  18. woodbutcher macrumors regular

    woodbutcher

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #18
    I followed all the instructions, and everything went smooth (thanks to all who have worked so hard on this) My question is, shouldn't the data speed be similar to the iphone?? with my iphone and iphonenetworktest,average speed on the Edge network is 150-180 kbps, when teathered I have not been able to get 45. While teathered I have also tried speakeasy's test with similar results.
     
  19. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #19
    The stock ringtones go in /Library/Ringtones, but following the UNIX FSH, they should go in your home folder. So, while they may work in /Library/Ringtones, it's just a better practice to put them in /var/root/Library/Ringtones.

    It will always do that unless you manually create a configuration file. Just ignore it.

    It's because you're running through a proxy, it will be slightly slower. Mine usually goes around 120kbit/s ... maybe you need to restart your phone so Safari and all that aren't running. That should help speed things up a bit, since the proxy server needs CPU cycles too. :)
     
  20. jtrwallace macrumors member

    jtrwallace

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Maui, Hawaii
    #20
    So I did everything like you said... I ignored that srelay thing. And the directions weren't hard so I don't see how I could have messed up but I got no internet connection? Where you say in the socks proxy part the IP address is that the name of the server? I don't know where exactly to put it so I guessed and put it in the name part... I just don't see what I could have been doing wrong. I typed srelay, I made a network, I joined it with my iPhone, I changed the IP and the Subnet Mask to what you said, I changed my IP and subnet and did the proxy thing on my mac and pressed Apply. No internet. Help? I guess you can't help though because I followed your directions and I missed no steps.... I'm confused.
     
  21. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #21
    Your mistake:
    Your consequence:
     
  22. /dev/toaster macrumors 68020

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #22
    Just a friendly warning, if you do tether your iPhone you run risk of being terminated from AT&T. (and you won't be able to sign back up)

    Its a violation of their policies.
     
  23. guitarmaster18 thread starter macrumors regular

    guitarmaster18

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #23
    True, but they cannot tell the differrence from you using your iphone or you using your computer- to them it all looks the same. Just downloading data. That's it.
     
  24. jtrwallace macrumors member

    jtrwallace

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Maui, Hawaii
    #24
    TheGeneral,

    You specifically told me it will always give me that response and that I should ignore it... are you saying that now I should not ignore it? I still typed it in, saw what it said and ignored it as per your suggestion.... I don't know why you would change your mind... I am really confused. Did you want me to manually create a configuration file? And, if so, how do I do that?
     
  25. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #25
    It will tell show you that message unless you manually create a configuration file. Creating a configuration file is a waste of time. Just ignore it. Sorry for the confusion.
     

Share This Page