How to torrent?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by troykeenan, May 5, 2009.

  1. troykeenan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Limerick, Ireland
    #1
    I'm willing to admit that I know absolutely nothing about torrenting, which is probably why it won't work for me. I downloaded and installed an app called Transmission. I downloaded a .torrent file. I tried to open the file in Transmission but it remains at 0%. I've tried several files but none of them work. What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. technohobbit17 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #2
    You need to download a file that has a high seeder to leecher ratio.
    Of course, I assume that you're downloading LEGAL torrents.
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    You don't really need a a torrent with more seeders than leechers, it just helps the download speed immensely sometimes.

    You need a torrent that has any seeders at all.

    If it is a legal torrent (no copyrighted material) could you tell us what torrent doesn't seem to download?

    Have you looked at the Transmission documentation: http://trac.transmissionbt.com/wiki ?
     
  4. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #4
    You need to forward ports on your router to get proper download speeds. To download something using bittorrent you need to have at least one seeder (someone with the complete file) to download from. The more seeders/leechers the better of course.
     
  5. troykeenan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Limerick, Ireland
    #5
    I've tried a ton of different torrents and clients but none of them work. I'm not trying to torrent anything in particular- I"m just trying to torrent anything so I know it works
     
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    Where do you want to torrent?
    At home or at work or at the university/school?

    Maybe your ISP/workplace/university has blocked the ports mentioned Compile 'em all.

    For instance I don't need to forward ports at my home or at my workplace to download a torrent.
    It just works.

    PS: Also Transmission tells me that the ports it uses are closed at my workplace, but I get quite good speeds (more than 100KBytes/s).
    (Transmission > Preferences > Network)
     
  7. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #7
    in transmission go to preference and i think in network there is something that tests if your ports are properly opened.
     
  8. troykeenan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Limerick, Ireland
    #8
    Port is closed. How do I open it?
     
  9. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    There is a possibility that your ISP (internet service provider) is blocking the ports used for the torrent apps.

    If you want to try a legit torrent that has good seeds, try OpenOffice torrents or a Linux distro torrent. They're are a bit big to try on, but you don't have to finish the download. This should at least tell you if the ports are blocked.
     
  10. Peterkro macrumors 68020

    Peterkro

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Location:
    Communard de Londres
    #10
  11. troykeenan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Limerick, Ireland
    #11
    I barely understand anything here and it doesn't tell me what to do
     
  12. Peterkro macrumors 68020

    Peterkro

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Location:
    Communard de Londres
    #12
    You need to select your router then select your program (transmission) then follow the instructions. Ignore the advertising which has appeared since last I used the site.
     
  13. troykeenan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Limerick, Ireland
    #13
    How do I know what my router is?
     
  14. Peterkro macrumors 68020

    Peterkro

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Location:
    Communard de Londres
    #14
    The modem or router you connect to via wireless or wired to connect to the internet find the make and model then find that on site.
     
  15. troykeenan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Limerick, Ireland
    #15
    I'm connected to the standard internet connection in my apartment- how can I find out what the router is?
     
  16. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #16
    I'm gonna try this in the morning.

    Doubt I'll get anywhere, I'm using an o2-branded router. :eek:
     
  17. Peterkro macrumors 68020

    Peterkro

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Location:
    Communard de Londres
    #17
    Do the apartments have individual connections or does the building share one,if the later you'll need to find who the administrator is.
     
  18. Peterkro macrumors 68020

    Peterkro

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Location:
    Communard de Londres
    #18
    You should be able to find the manufacturer somewhere on the router.(it's probably Thompson )
     
  19. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #19
    And.. you're right?? :eek:
     
  20. troykeenan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Limerick, Ireland
    #20
    I have a connection in my room
     
  21. Peterkro macrumors 68020

    Peterkro

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Location:
    Communard de Londres
    #21
    Is it a adsl line, that is connected to your telephone in which case the router will plug into your phoneline,if it's cable there will be a box which plugs into your cable connection. You need to get the make and model then find that on the website.(sorry I'm off to bed now someone else will be along to help or I'll look in in the morning )
     
  22. troykeenan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Limerick, Ireland
    #22
    Its an ethernet cable that runs directly into the wall
     
  23. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #23
    Set Transmission to automatically map the port and to force encryption. Make sure your firewall isn't blocking it, if you have one.
     
  24. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #24
    Why? Illegal torrents will work just the same, but really isn't relevant to the thread.

    I doubt the network admin at your apartment complex would be willing to help out, regardless of the content you plan on downloading.

    I'd like to see his face when you ask him though :)
     

Share This Page