How to turn camera shutter sound off?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by patent10021, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. patent10021 macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #1
    Here in Japan we can't turn the camera shutter sound off because apparently there are so many perverts here that the government said there will be no disabling of shutter sounds. Up-skirt dudes etc.

    Personally, when I take pictures in restaurants etc I don't particularly like it when everyone turns around to see who's taking photos because they can hear my shutter.

    I've read though that there are certain desktop apps that can access the shutter sound file so we can disable it.

    Is this the easiest way? What's the best desktop app?
     
  2. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #3
    put your finger/hand over the speaker when you take a picture.
     
  3. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #4
  4. tadad1 macrumors 6502a

    tadad1

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #5
    I just flick the silent switch when taking photos if I do not want the sound to intrude.
     
  5. Mr Kram macrumors 68000

    Mr Kram

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #6
    the app they use is for windows, but the theory is the same. google a little and there are mac solutions.
     
  6. kirk26 macrumors 6502a

    kirk26

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Location:
    West Virginia
  7. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #8
    There is NO silent mode in Japan for the shutter.
     
  8. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #9
    I found iFuntastic but it seems to require a JB. iPhone Explorer is nice but it doesn't go to the root folder. Cyberduck etc. all need a JB.
     
  9. mad-dog-one macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #10
    Oh ya, you gotta hold it the right way.
     
  10. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    so... you're telling us that you have a different build of iOS?
     
  11. moussekateer macrumors 6502a

    moussekateer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #12
    As you've realized you're going to need root access. Jailbreak is the way to go.

    No the firmware is exactly the same for all devices but depending on where the phone is activated restrictions can be applied post activation. For example GPS was disabled on iPhones activated in Egypt.
     
  12. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #13
    Yes unfortunately. Ok well if I go this 'root', no pun intended, will my phone stay in the same state it's currently in? I don't have to worry that my phone will be a totally different phone etc? Everything stays the same only it's a JB phone?
     
  13. moussekateer macrumors 6502a

    moussekateer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #14
    Well first you have to determine if your phone can be jailbroken. If it's a 3GS OR 4 on firmware 4.0.2 or higher then no. Secondly the act of jailbreaking doesn't change the phone in any way. It'll look exactly the same, act exactly the same etc. But now you'll have Cydia and read/write access to the root partition.
     
  14. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #15
    SoftBank Japan
    4.1 (8B117)

    looks like I'm SOL.

    But I'm following posixninja on Twitter and it looks like a new JB will be out within hours even.
     
  15. moussekateer macrumors 6502a

    moussekateer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #16
    Yep, out of luck for now. But 4.1 jailbreak isn't too far off
     

Share This Page