How to turn off Edge

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by kidwithdimples, Jul 25, 2008.

  1. kidwithdimples macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #1
    I have the 2G iPhone. I am scared to open Weather or even Safari.

    I see the [E] icon at the top. When I go to Settings > General > Network > Edge .. there is nothing under APN -> Username or Password.

    So does that mean Edge is disabled/not working? I am fine with WiFi.
     
  2. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #2
    There is no way to turn off edge by default. With the old version (pre 3G) you could jailbreak the iPhone and use Bossprefs to disable edge.
     
  3. kidwithdimples thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #3
    If I don't have anything under the APN settings like a User name and Password.. does that mean that Edge will not work?
     
  4. kidwithdimples thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #4
    It looks like I already used 2 kb of Edge.

    damn it
     
  5. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #5
    If you have at&t, EDGE is free, and there is no APN, username or password. If EDGE is not on your plan, it will not allow you to access or warn you ahead of time.

    The only way to make sure you're not using it is to pop out the SIM card.

    Also, remember, data is $.02/KB.

    TEG
     
  6. kidwithdimples thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #6
    I am using this unlocked iPhone with T-Mobile. It has 1.1.4 installed.

    What should I do after I pop out the SIM card?
     
  7. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #7
    That would work, but also prevent any of the phone features from working as well...
     
  8. Diode macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #8
    call your provider and have them block data to your account.
     
  9. kidwithdimples thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #9
    I am calling T-Mobile now.
     
  10. kidwithdimples thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #10
    I just talked with T-Mobile and the guy said I have NO INTERNET plan on my account.

    However.. when I go to Usage > it shows 4.0 kb was sent and 9.0 kb was received even though I didn't login to any Wi-Fi network.
     
  11. iPaul macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #11
    You don't need to have a plan to use it. That just means you're being charged by the KB instead of paying a flat monthly rate.
     
  12. angemon89 macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #12
    Jailbreak it and disable edge. I think there is an App called Services that will also let you turn it off. It's the only way so you wont have to worry about accidental usage.
     
  13. kidwithdimples thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #13
    I did install it. The thing is when i turn off edge the hit the home screen.. it goes back to ON again?
     
  14. rioja macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #14
    I've posted this link a few times in different threads. IMO this is the easiest way to turn data off.

    Go here on your iPhone in Safari and follow the install instructions. It takes 1 minute and I've used it myself... it is SAFE!

    To uninstall it you go to Settings->General->Profile. I've installed/uninstalled a dozen times and it's worked flawlessly every time.
     
  15. iCantwait macrumors 65816

    iCantwait

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #15
    one it is off in the lil' box with the E will stay there, regardless
     
  16. kidwithdimples thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
  17. voxnj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    Dark Side of the Moon
    #17
    An easier approach

    If you want to use WIFI without edge (or 3G), it's simple:

    On your Iphone Settings:

    1. Turn Airplane Mode ON
    2. Then go to WIFI and turn WIFI ON

    Works well (on 3G phones) and doesn't require any adventures
     
  18. tangledweb16 macrumors regular

    tangledweb16

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #18
    -Edited-

    Sorry for being a d***. Maybe next time I should read the whole thread before spewing my giant mouth.

    I apologize.
     
  19. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #19
    He's not paying a monthly fee. He gets charged for each KB that goes over EDGE.

    Did you read the thread? His concern is not misplaced.
     
  20. tangledweb16 macrumors regular

    tangledweb16

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #20
    Yeah.... I failed.

    Sorry.
     
  21. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #21
    This is what I had to do.

    My iPhone was running up at least £10 of data charges a month - and I wasn't viewing a single webpage.

    I installed Boss prefs, tried everything, incorrect web settings - somehow it was charging me for lots of very short data calls.

    So, I called T-Mobile and told them I wanted the GPRS/EDGE features on my account removed, along with the MMS.

    I now don't pay these silly charges.

    (FYI, I'm in the UK)
     
  22. shamash macrumors 6502a

    shamash

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Taichung, Taiwan
    #22
    I'm not sure how true that is.. my brother is on our family plan, but doesn't have EDGE enabled on it. He went $5.60 over in internet charges, and said he never got a warning or anything. He's not the lying type, either heh.
     

Share This Page