How to turn on "automatically reopen all programs and windows" on every startup

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Misskitty, Jan 27, 2014.

  1. Misskitty macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #1
    Im not using Lion, im on 9.6.8 but I cant get the MBP to automatically open all my programs and windows each time I start up that I previously had opened. I know there is a window thats suppose to pop up when you reboot but I dont get that. I checked in sys pref and no option.
     
  2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #2
    Go to System Preferences → General → uncheck 'Close all windows when quitting an application'.

    Make sure that the apps remain open before you shut down your system.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #3
    That's for each app them selves, not the whole system.

    OP you don't have this checkbox when you do :apple: > Shutdown?

    If you check the "reopen windows when logging back in" checkbox all the apps and windows will reopen on the next startup. The checkbox will remember if it was checked or not and it will stay the same as the last time you changed it, so if you want you always want to reopen apps/windows just check it once and it will stay that way.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Misskitty thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #4
    No im not given that option.
     
  5. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #5
    It was not there in Snow Leo. I reckon you're on 10.6.8 aka Snow Leopard. Haven't heard of anyone running System 9 on their Intel Macs ;)
     
  6. AppleFanatic10 macrumors 68030

    AppleFanatic10

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Location:
    Encino, CA
    #6
    I'm a little confused 9.6.8? Do you mean Snow Leopard (10.6.8)?
     
  7. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #7
    It's a joke, Mac OS 9 (classic) is a really old OS from ~ 1999.

    ----------

    Your OS must be too old to have the feature.
     
  8. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #8
    Snow Leopard does not have that option.

    You can only do so in Lion, Mountain Lion and Mavericks.
     
  9. Misskitty, Jan 28, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2014

    Misskitty thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #9
    How do I upgrade? Cause i was almost certain i was on Lion, I paid the $20 a year ago to upgrade. How do I get this back? When I go to the App store, under purchases it shows i made the Lion upgrade purchase but i cant download it. Says its not available in the CDN store. What a joke, I paid $20 for this and now i cant get it? Then give me my money back Apple

    I can only get Mavericks which I hate!!!! It has major issues for dual monitors running Display link (2nd on USB video card) and made the computer super laggy so I removed it last Dec. Until Apple fixes this, i wont be downloading it. Typical Apple, release betas that dont even work as advertised.
     
  10. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #10
    I think if you hold option than click download it will force download the installer
     
  11. Misskitty thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #11
    Ok got it figured out, I called Apple, and somehow i just switched to the US app store then back to CDN and Lion 10.7 started downloading again. Odd. Dont know why it would say it wasnt available the first 345 times i tried.
     
  12. AppleFanatic10 macrumors 68030

    AppleFanatic10

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Location:
    Encino, CA
    #12
    When I tried to download Lion from the U.S. App store, it said that it wasn't available.
     

Share This Page