Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Imola Ghost

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Mar 21, 2009
I'm pretty sure that you just open the APPLICATIONS folder and drag the app into the trash, is that correct?

I'm new to Mac's so; does this remove everything that has to do with the program like a library or files associated with it?

J the Ninja

macrumors 68000
Jul 14, 2008
Most programs have all their stuff except for the their preferences file stored within the bundle itself, so trashcanning that deletes everything. Some programs (notably those that use installer packages) may have left files elsewhere, like the Application Support folder. These usually have an uninstaller as well, either that they installed originally, or on the disc/disc image you originally got the installer package off of.

As for that preferences file, it is a tiny file (4-5KB) that is ignored by everything except the program you just deleted, so there is really no harm in just forgetting about it, but you can go to ~/Library/Preferences and delete the thing if you feel like it.

ziggyonice

macrumors 68020
Mar 12, 2006
Rural America
Easy answer:

To uninstall a program, simply drag its icon from the Application folder to the Trash.

All programs contain things like preference files and sometimes additional files, which are usually stored in the Library. While it's not necessary to remove these (as they take up very little space, and can be convenient if you ever choose to reinstall the program), if you'd like to remove them you can. They're located in the Library folder, and you can just drag them to the Trash if you go looking for them. Note though this does take some work and you need to know what you're doing -- in which case it may be easier to use one of the above mentioned programs to do it for you.

Imola Ghost

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Mar 21, 2009