How to unlock iPhone 3G version 2.2.1 (5H11)?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by pj302, Feb 13, 2009.

  1. pj302 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    I have an iPhone 3G version 2.2.1 (5H11). How can I unlock my iPhone? I will be traveling to South Asia I want to use my South Asian sim card.

    Thanks.
     
  2. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    You will have to use a sim card unlock option because the software unlock does not with the stock 2.2.1 baseband
     
  3. pj302 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #3

    What is a sim card unlock option? Are there any links explaining how to use the sim card unlock option?

    Thank you for your help.
     
  4. mreddys10 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #4
    Please read this: http://blog.iphone-dev.org/

    If your baseband version is 2.30, u cant unlock as of now. If u r really desperate, then u can try 'hardware' solutions like a rebelsim. IF u do want to use this (a lot of people dont recommend it), then u can try ismartphone3g. I used it before the software unlock was released, and it seemed to work fine.
     
  5. pj302 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #5
    I am new to the iPhone wold.. and hence my dumb question.
    Why do people not recommend rebelsim? What is ismartphone3g?

    Thanks!!!
     
  6. mreddys10 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #6
    ismartphone3g is similar to a rebel sim, but it worked better than rebelsim for me. Just google it. I dont really know why its not recommended (i used it dint i? LOL). There are a lot of different manufacturers of this sim, so do a google search, find one that u can get easily (and one that works with iphone FW 2.2.1). Be carefull though, some of the sites are fake.
     
  7. pj302 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    #7
    Thank you!!!!
     
  8. vadim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #8

    I had after several attempts with different SIM (yessim,turbosim and i-smartphon) cards I finally did with a SIM card called magicsim. which I bought via turbo-sim.com
    The main problem with the first 3 sim cards I mentioned above was continuously losing of signal while switching cell towers...that was really frustrated! Everything is working perfect now I don't know if this magicsim is an improved version but everything works just PERFECT now! Also their support stuff has responded promptly to each support request I made.
     
  9. lakeishalily59 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #9
    i have tried the magicsim card too, it's really great,MAGICSIM 2009 Newest iPhone V2.2.1 Unlock Turbosim.I bought it via www.magicsim.com.may be you can have a try.
     
  10. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #10
    Spam..... :rolleyes:
     
  11. still in school macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    #11
    try taking out "may"... it was a typo.

    i went to the site, but theres no place for me to purchase it.. i just went ahead and purchased one on ebay for 10 bucks... we'll see how that goes.
     
  12. kairos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #12
    It has,you can purchase it on line, i bought it on line, now it works perfect. http://www.magicsim.com/Consult-online.htm
     

Share This Page