how to unlock iphone 3gs 4.1 modem firmware 5.14.02

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by archjab, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. archjab macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #1
    my thread title speaks for itself..
    how do i unlock my iphone 3gs, I upgraded to firmware 4.1 because I accidentally clicked reset netwok settings, then my iphone just went to restore mode and i have to underwent thru the DFU mode. I jailbroke it using limera1n. but am not getting any signal from my network carrier.. I am residing here in the philippines. How do i unlock my iphone 3gs firmware 4.1 with modem firmware 5.14.02? please help me... thank you very much in advance...
     
  2. smashhell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    #2
    there are currently no unlock method for ios 4.1 with firmware 5.14.02

    you will have to wait like the rest of us I am afraid. =/
     
  3. turbotea macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #4
    i'm in the same boat with you. i reseted all my settings to save time instead of deleting one by one and my iphone got stuck. i was going to give it to my gf's mom and she didnt want all that junk on it that i had before. updated now it just sits there waiting for a new unlock to be released. so let hope they release something real soon
     
  4. djinni999 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #5
    go to the tinyumbrella site and browse around. i remember a post detailing how to DOWNGRADE baseband. you'll need your shsh blobs most likely. i'm not sure if it'll work 100% for the 3gs, give it a try.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    That's false.
    You cannot downgrade a bb on a 3GS.

     
  6. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #7
    You can only use Tiny Umbrella to keep your baseband from being upgraded (and I believe that only works for iphone 4).

     
  7. ghileman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #8
    any news?

    moved to the UK and my AT&T iPhone 3GS can't be used as a phone (but make a fine ipod touch) here unless I can unlock it.

    thanks.
     
  8. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #9
    If you use twitter, follow the devteam and musclenerd. However, you're not likely to see an unlock until 4.2 (at the earliest)--assuming you see one at all.

     
  9. ghileman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #10
    i was afraid that was the case.

    anyone want to buy a brand new, mint condition 32GB locked iPhone 3GS?
     
  10. dean2312 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #11
    just a thought

    Just a thought - if your At&T phone was legitimately out of contract - contact them and ask them to contact Apple to have it unlocked.

    They dont advertise this readily - but I can assure they have to do it. (if your out of contract obviously)
    Did this to my 32GB 3gs when the contract was up - took a couple of days
     
  11. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #12
    Really? Not to sound suspicious, but others have posted about how they're out of contract and have gotten in touch with AT&T to unlock it (one was a soldier who was stationed in a foreign country). None of these people had any success.
    When were you able to get an official unlock from Apple?
     
  12. ghileman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #13
    I'd heard that before and told the AT&T senior supervisor that, but she assured me that this was impossible.

    We'll see if it helps any but I filed an online complaint with the FCC about this. In the past FCC complaints have been sure fire ways to get speedy resolution on cust sat matters. Wall St analysts track how many FCC complaints the telcos get as a litmus test on true cust sat. The thinking is that if someone goes to all the trouble to file an FCC complaint they must really be pissed off. So the telcos like AT&T generally go to great lengths to appease FCC complainers.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    No, no official unlock to any US iPhones at all so far.
     
  14. Limey77 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #15
    Don't know if this would work for you ghileman but if your phone is legitimately out of contract and you are now in the UK it's worth going into an O2 store and asking for a Simplicity SIM (it's a rolling 1 month contact deal) if they activate it for you and register it onto their network when it downloads the carrier files it might just relock to O2.

    Of course, once you finish your 1 month contract with O2 you use their online form to have your phone completely unlocked.

    Not 100% sure it would work but it's certainly worth a go.
     
  15. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    A US locked iphone will only work with AT&T sims.
    And 02 or any other wireless provider cannot unlock iphones locked to other carriers.
    It wont recognize 02 or any other companies sim cards.

     
  16. Limey77 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #17
    Fair enough.

    I wasn't sure that it works coming from the US to Uk, but it certainly works going from the UK to US as I have friend who had a locked iPhone 3GS on O2 (before they did the official unlock) and all he had to do was sign up to an AT&T contract and when AT&T registered his phone it became (and remains) locked to AT&T.

    Just thought it might work the same coming this way.
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    A locked iphone to 02 without beeing officially unlocked was used on AT&T?
    And then it became locked to AT&T? Yeah right, thats not how it works.
    AT&T cannot "register" or unlock/relock an iphone from another carrier to their network.
    Maybe it was officially unlocked first and then they used it on AT&T.


     
  18. Limey77 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #19
    Maybe it was. Just reporting what he told me, I don't claim to be an expert by any means but thought it might be worth a go.

    I haven't seen him since he moved to NY but he said all he had tondo was sign up to an AT&T contract, they plugged it in and downloaded some file (I was assuming it would be the carrier settings, but don't know). A few minutes later he was up and running with his UK phone on AT&T, but as you say maybe he was incorrect at it being locked in the first place.
     
  19. ghileman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #21
    what about this idea?

    what if i could get the UK apple store to swap my current locked to AT&T iphone 3GS with a new one. any phone the apple store provides me wouldn't be locked to AT&T. then i put an O2 sim card in the new phone and restore via iTunes. will the AT&T lock be transfered from my iTunes account to this new sourced from the UK 3GS? or would iTunes see that I have a new sim card from O2 and not relock to AT&T?
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    Yes I believe when they put in your old iPhones serial number in their system to do the swap the same lock will be transfered over to the replacement.
     
  21. elektronik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #23
    hey guys. I'm a new poster, and im kind of desperate to resolve this issue. I unlocked my iphone 3gs (os 4.1, firmware 5.14.02) with limera1n, which worked great, and then unlocked with ultrasn0w, not realizing that my firmware was not yet supported. My question is this: is there a newer ultrasn0w that will support 5.14.02 out, or coming out soon? And if not, can i get rid of my ultrasn0w unlock? The iPhone still works fine, except that now i can't get a signal, even with my valid ATT simcard. Any help is appreciated. I'm happy to get rid of ultrasn0w or limera1n if it will get my service back on my phone. Thanks all.
     
  22. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #24
    Yes remove ultrasnow. It's not compatible with your bb.
     
  23. PaHtSaN macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    #25
    Is it 4.1?
     

Share This Page