HOW TO: Unlock iPhone 4 At&t

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by nusret01, Oct 2, 2011.

  1. nusret01 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    #1
    So, I bought this iPhone 4 today, and like always, I was searching google and I am unable to find a method to unlock my iPhone 4.

    Jailbreak would be cool, but definitely not a must.

    I am running an iPhone 4 with the following specs:

    iPhone 4 - At&t 10.0
    Version 4.3.5 (8L1)
    Firmware 4.10.01

    I come to the gods of the iPhones and I would hopefully like to find a way to unlock my iPhone 4 on the T-Mobile network.

    Thanks :D
     
  2. ctbear macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #2
    I'm just gonna assume that you bought an AT&T locked version with subsidized price...in that case, there's currently no unlock for iPhone 4 with new basebands. (Unless I missed the memo)
     
  3. nusret01 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    #3
    I bought the iPhone from my friend for $10.00, lol.

    So, there is no way to downgrade my 4.3.5 to like 4.3.3 ? Because I saw that the Gevey Sim works for Firmware 4.10.01?

    I did preserve the BB of my iPad 2... that wouldn't be able to work on the iPhone will it? lol
     
  4. Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #4
    Sell the phone for $300+ on craigslist before the iPhone 5 comes out and then put that money towards buying an unlocked iPhone 5 straight from Apple.
     
  5. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    honestly, if you're asking us how to unlock a phone then taking your iPads baseband is probably not a good idea for you.

    just get the gevey sim. works fine.
     
  6. nusret01 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    #6
    I would use the Gevey Sim, but it doesn't work for my iOS version. My baseband works for the Gevey, but it doesn't support my version (4.3.5)
     
  7. ctbear macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #7
    Download Tinyumbrella and see if your friend had older SHSHs saved.
     
  8. nusret01 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    #8
    Thanks for the quick replies.

    Are SHSH's different for each phone? Sorry I don't know much about iPhones.

    I know I saved my SH Blobs or w/e they're called for my iPad2 - so im guessing its different for each phone?
     
  9. CBillups1 macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    you can buy the Gevey sim to unlock your phone
     
  10. ctbear macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #10
    Yes, SHSH blobs are unique to each device.
     
  11. macingman macrumors 68020

    macingman

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Your iPhone is compatible with the gevey sim. All basebands and OS4.x versions are compatible. Just get the gevey sim it will work.
     
  12. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #12
    I would wait to see if the Gevey is compatible with iOS5 and then go for it.
     
  13. CBillups1 macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #13
    hes not on ios5 though
     
  14. nusret01 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    #14

    Omg! Great news!! I love you! I will definitely place an order now.

    Will post an update once I try the card.
     
  15. Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #15
    Grevy SIM is not a good legitimate solution. Every time you re-spring or reboot it has to dial your local emergency number which at least in America can get you fined.
     
  16. Djlild7hina macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #16
    I believe they have a untethered solution for gevey now (you don't have to dial the emergency number each time you shut the device off) but I think you need to jb for it. Not completely sure and yes gevey works all the way til 4.3.5 but don't upgrade to 5.0 because they patched the exploit in the betas already
     
  17. macingman macrumors 68020

    macingman

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #17
    It doesn't work with iOS5. iOS5 isn't that amazing anyway, I tried the beta out for a bit.
     
  18. nusret01 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    #18
    My Card is on the way..

    This is what I got in a response to my email to applenberry.

    "The Gevey will be able to unlock version 4.3.5, but only through the manual process. The manual process consists of dialing 112, does not require a jailbreak on the phone and you will have to reprogram whenever the phone is powered off, but it takes about 2 minutes to reprogram. It is the automatic method that is limited to 4.3.3 because it requires a jailbreak on the phone."

    So, with that being said... i'll have to dial 112? What is the reason behind that?

    I got confused so I checked their website and it says this:

    "Is it illegal to dial 112 to unlock my iPhone?
    IT IS NOT ILLEGAL to dial 112 because you’re supposed to hang up before the call connects."

    ... Any one use the Gevey and has to dial 112 that can explain why I have to do that... and what is 112? Where does it call?
     
  19. ann713 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #19
    Countries have specific emergency numbers assigned to them. Such numbers include 999, 08, etc. and of course 911. Basically, for gsm phones '112' forwards to '911', at least in the US. I've used the gevey sims in the past, it takes less than one minute in order to reboot/unlock the phone. How often do you turn your phone off anyway? I wouldn't worry about dialing 112 because you hang up within 2 seconds, the call doesn't connect.
     
  20. nusret01 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    #20
    Thanks for the quick reply mate. I never turn my phone off ... and never let it die either.

    So really, all I have to do is dial 112 and then disconnect right away?
     
  21. ann713 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #21
    Dial 112, wait 1...2 seconds and hang up. Then of course you just continue with the procedure, you'll get it quick. I'm not exactly tech-savvy but I can do it.

    For those still on OS 4.3.3 and under, there's no need to dial the 112 if you're jailbroken with the Furiousmod.
     

Share This Page