How to update from El Capitan beta 1 to beta 3

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by eternalpeasant, Jul 8, 2015.

  1. eternalpeasant macrumors member

    eternalpeasant

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Location:
    Reading Berkshire
    #1
    Hey guys, i currently did a fresh install of El Capitan beta 1 this morning, and my issue is that i don't get any updates on the app store, can you guys help me out and get me on beta 3? i was able to use a delta update and get onto beta 3 but my bluetooth would not work so currently did a full restore back to yosemite
     
  2. w0lf macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
  3. eternalpeasant thread starter macrumors member

    eternalpeasant

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Location:
    Reading Berkshire
    #3
    What?
     
  4. sbarrier macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #4
    I'm like the original poster. Installed EC today and it is Beta 1 (15A178w). Beta 3 won't show up for me in the app store. I tried the terminal command and I'm told that there's no updates available.
     
  5. eternalpeasant thread starter macrumors member

    eternalpeasant

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Location:
    Reading Berkshire
    #5
    Have you tried the delta 3 package from IMZDL? I tried that, it was glitching through installation but did work, but however my Bluetooth would not work, you can try it if any luck
     
  6. sbarrier macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #6
    Any concerns with downloading an OS update from a 3rd party? I saw that, but wasn't sure how comfortable I was with downloading it from IMZDL.
     
  7. eternalpeasant thread starter macrumors member

    eternalpeasant

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Location:
    Reading Berkshire
    #7
    Well dude I'm not a developer, but it did work just a bit glitchy installations, just back your stuff up incase it doesn't work, so you can revert to Yosemite
     
  8. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #8
    Open terminal and "input sudo softwareupdate -iva" (without the " ") like the previous member posted. That should install the update for you.
     
  9. eternalpeasant thread starter macrumors member

    eternalpeasant

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Location:
    Reading Berkshire
    #9
    Sorry about that dude and I'll give it a shot tomorrow
     
  10. tywebb13, Jul 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2015

    tywebb13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #10
    All I'm going to say is that if you were a developer you would know that there is a workaround in apple's developer forums. And no, I'm not going to reproduce it here.
     
  11. sbarrier macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #11
    I can assure you that I have a developer account. Could you at least provide a link to the solution?
     
  12. tywebb13, Jul 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2015

    tywebb13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #12
    eternalpeasant already admitted he isn't a developer.

    But there is an issue causing problems even for developers and this has now been comprehensively dealt with in apple's developer forums in several threads there.

    So I though I'd mention it here because I know developers use this forum too.

    Probably the simplest thread in apple's developer forums dealing with the issue is the one called "el capitan beta update not showing in software updates".

    If you have access to those forums then you should not reproduce it here because if you do then you would be breaching macrumors rules (it involves links which could facilitate unauthorized access to developer beta software).
     
  13. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #13
    The Apple developer forums aren't hidden behind a login anymore and anyone can see them at this point. The link to the developer forums for 10.11 beta are here https://forums.developer.apple.com/community/pre-release/os-x-1011-beta
     
  14. tywebb13, Jul 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2015

    tywebb13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #14
    I think you'd still have to login to post something there though.

    Did you find the thread I mentioned?

    You have to install firmware updates for DP2 and DP3 - something imzdl don't mention.

    And imzdl also don't say you have to install DP2 before you install DP3.

    If you don't install it properly (the way apple intended, not imzdl's way) then I'm not surprised if you have problems with it.

    You get better information from apple's developer forums - as well as links to the official software from apple's servers, not some bogus website or torrent.
     
  15. eternalpeasant thread starter macrumors member

    eternalpeasant

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Location:
    Reading Berkshire
    #15
    alright well i looked at the thread, i see that i need to basically manually download B2 and then after that to B3
     
  16. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #16
    The forums don't require a paid developer account to post, and yes, I found the thread.
     
  17. sbarrier macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #17
    Thanks for the link. I had looked at that forum yesterday but overlooked that thread.

    Using the instructions in the Apple dev forum, I was able to successfully update my brand new rMBP to EC Beta 3. Strangely enough, I have an older (2011) 15" MBP and it is updating from the App Store.

    Thanks again for your help. Greatly appreciated.
     

Share This Page