How to upgrade jailbroken 3gs to ios 4

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by prashpal09, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. prashpal09 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #1
    I have iphone 3gs with new bootroom running on 3.1.2 jailbroken with blackra1n.

    When i tried to restore my phone in itunes, i got an error which said that the device is eligible for the requested build.

    How can i safely upgrade to ios 4.

    Can i just press the upgrade button is itunes? will that brick my phone?

    thank you all in advance!
     
  2. tempusfugit macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    just upgrade to 4.0.1 dont be afraid to just hit the button.

    Won't brick your phone, nothing to worry about. Do it soon so you can jailbreak 4.0.1 before apple comes out with an update and stops signing 4.0.1 or if you don't want to JB right now back up your shsh blobs with TinyUmbrella (google it) so you can downgrade to 4.0.1 any time in the future.


    good luck.

    brace yourself for a ton of people telling you that you're stupid for creating a whole new thread about this.
     
  3. prashpal09 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #3
    Will i lose the jailbreak after that?
     
  4. prashpal09 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #4
    wtf...my phone is stuck in restore...wht shud i do????..i tried restarting..reinstalling itunes...and trying to restore again..but doesnt work?..is my phone bricked?
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Put it in DFU mode and restore it thru itunes.
     
  6. prashpal09 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #6
    tried it..still stuck in restore....so frustrating...bout to throw it in concrete!!
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Calm down newbie.
    Do you know how to put in DFU restore mode?
     
  8. prashpal09 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #8
    yeah...10 secs...both button...thn for the rest only home button...till the msg pops up in itunes...innit
     
  9. prashpal09 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #10
  10. prashpal09 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #11
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    Only if its there's a hardware problem it will not go into DFU.
    Take a break and try again later.
    It works better if you're not flipping out while trying to do it :)
     

Share This Page