How to upgrade my internal HD

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Laurencia7, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. Laurencia7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #1
    Guys
    I need help picking out an internal HD for my macbook,
    I want to get 500 GB but am wondering if that would mean i have to upgrade my memory too? and when I install it, is it easy to install a new HD?

    Here are the stats on my hardware:
    [​IMG]

    And where can I find a place that sells good Hard Drives?
    I found this site, but which brand is best? I have a Hitachi now, but kinda want a Seagate or a Tosh drive.
    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/Apple_MacBook/White/2.13GHz

    Please let me know
    L
     
  2. Cboss macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    Any of the hard drives on the page you linked will work in your MacBook. Installing it is easy, and there are installation videos near the bottom of the OWC web page. All of those hard drives should be of similar quality, you just need to decide if you want the standard 5,400 rpm speed or if you want to bump up to 7,200 rpm. Some people claim that the faster drives cause vibration, but I haven't noticed any personally.

    You do not need to upgrade your RAM when you upgrade your hard drive. I see that you have 2 GB and that is a good amount for 90% of people.
     
  3. Laurencia7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #3
    Thanks so much, The only other question I have is..if I upgrade it myself will apple cancel my extended warranty I bought? ie Apple Care
     
  4. circularforward macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    #4
    No. AppleCare will not be canceled. =)
     
  5. Laurencia7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
  6. circularforward macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    #6
  7. Laurencia7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
  8. Laurencia7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    #8
    so I know how to do the physical transfer with the new hd, but how to format it? If I connect my time machine will it just bring up the migrate feature to transfer to my new drive, or do I have to load the dvd?
     
  9. Shani Clinton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #9
    Load the external DVD.

    Shani
     
  10. Laurencia7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009

Share This Page