How to upgrade to iOS 10 w/o home button?

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by Jarvxs, Sep 19, 2016.

  1. Jarvxs macrumors newbie

    Jarvxs

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    #1
    My home button has broken so I have been using AssistiveTouch

    I've almost finish downloading iOS 10 but now it's saying 'press home to upgrade' but I can't because the button has broke!

    Any ideas? I've already tried holding the lock button but it takes me back to the same white screen
     
  2. sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #2
    interesting, never thought of this. Wonder if you are screwed, and if so, I wonder how Apple would respond if you took the phone into the store.
     
  3. Jarvxs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jarvxs

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    #3
    I'm talking to the help team using the online chat, the guy couldn't help so I'm being transferred to 'senior support'
     
  4. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #4
    AssistiveTouch is enabled right? Just hit that.
     
  5. GekkoEightySix macrumors member

    GekkoEightySix

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
  6. ForkHandles macrumors regular

    ForkHandles

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    #6
    Don't install iOS 10. You can't access the os an iPad or iPhone without pressing the home button. They have removed swipe to sign in and changed it to press home button.
     
  7. Jarvxs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jarvxs

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    #7
    I'm stuck on the first page of set-up so it isn't on the screen
    --- Post Merged, Sep 19, 2016 ---
    iPhone 5s
    --- Post Merged, Sep 19, 2016 ---
    I already have
     
  8. ForkHandles macrumors regular

    ForkHandles

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    #8
    Sorry. In that case I don't know what you can do apart from the obvious. Fix the home button or attach it to iTunes and install 9.3.5
     
  9. LoveToMacRumors macrumors 68020

    LoveToMacRumors

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Rollback to ios 9.3.5, or pay a fee to get another phone
     
  10. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #10
    I wonder why they even need the whole swipe/press home to upgrade...just upgrade. And while they changed the unlocking, not sure whey they needed to change that "upgrade" flow to do use the same thing and not just stick with swiping there.
     
  11. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #11
    I think you will need to get the home button fixed. After all Assistive Touch isnt there to replace a broken home button so any upgrade will assume fully working hardware.
     
  12. RgnCjn87 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    #12
    Is a sim card in the phone? I had the same issues, but I did not have a sim card in. After putting one in, I powered off the phone, then powered it back on, after doing so, I was taken to a screen that asked to select the Language.
     

Share This Page