How to upload videos from camcorder to macbook?

C00KiE

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 5, 2008
California
This is my first time trying to do this and can't figure it out. I connected the usb cable and my pictures pop up automatically but not the video. I thought it would just pop up on imovie. When i connect the USB 3 files are on with the no name icon. The first one is "DCIM" which has the pictures, the second is "MISC" which has AUTPRINT.MRK (I have no idea what that is) and the last file is "PRIVATE" which has nothing. Where's the videos????

Darth.Titan

macrumors 68030
Oct 31, 2007
Austin, TX
The videos are usually in the DCIM folder along with your pictures. They're just mixed in.

Actually, iPhoto usually imports videos taken on my camera as well as the pics.

C00KiE

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 5, 2008
California
:confused:I can't find them. There all .JPG

Do I need to download the disk that came w/ the camcorder in order to view my videos?

theARNSKI

macrumors regular
May 27, 2009
I had the same thing when I first tried to import video from my camcorder to my macbook.

Is it a MiniDV camera you're importing from (where you use a miniDV tape)?

In my instance, it was from a MiniDV camcorder and what I actually had to do was manually import the video. When the import window popped up, I had to rewind/fast forward the tape from there and I had to start and stop the clips I wanted.

C00KiE

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 5, 2008
California
^^^Yes it is a miniDV camcorder. A window never popped up. I want the whole video downloaded. I've got to try again later.

I can't figure it out:confused: Can someone help me?????

geeez.... thanks guys.

HBOC

macrumors 68020
Oct 14, 2008
SLC