How to upscale 576i50 to 720p50?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by AVR2, Mar 26, 2016.

  1. AVR2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #1
    I've got a widescreen DV PAL QT (1024x576) that I want to upscale to 720p50. The reason I want to do this is so that I can upload it to YouTube and it will retain its "live video" look, at least for people watching using the 720p50 stream option.

    If uploading to YT wasn't a consideration, I'd just use Handbrake with its deinterlacer turned on and set to "bob" to create a 1024x576 50p MP4. I've done this many times in the past, and it works perfectly as a way of retaining the correct "interlaced video" look when the video is played on any device.

    However, since YT only supports 50p for HD video, I need to upscale, and I'm told that Handbrake won't do this. Any suggestions for upscaling and converting to 50p at the same time? Or would I have to use two separate apps?
     
  2. LiveM macrumors 6502a

    LiveM

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #2
    Just upload it. Transcoding it will only make it look worse. YouTube is going to transcode it again anyway.

    It will look choppy since it will be changed from 50i to 30p.
     
  3. Jerion, Mar 31, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2016

    Jerion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    #3
    On a basic level, 50i contains the same amount of information as 25p, just played back differently (half as much information at once, twice as often). You can't "correctly" convert 50i to 50p because the needed frame information doesn't exist. That's not to say that you can't fake it with interpolation or some other trick though, and I wouldn't be surprised if Handbrake was doing just that.

    What you could do is to import the file into a 720p50 or 720p25 iMovie or FCP X project and export at that resolution. A little hacky, but forcing a 50i file into a 50p project might just do it.

    It's an interesting question- I don't know quite how FCP X would handle that, let alone iMovie.
     
  4. Johnsyounger macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    #4
    If you have after effects some makes an uprez plugin. Think it works like a line doubler...
     
  5. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 603

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #5
    Just render it native. Everyone's TV- whether 720p or 4K- has a hardware upscaler to display whatever video it receives as good as it can. If one hooks a VCR (less than SD resolution) to a 4K TV, it will fill the screen. Save yourself the worry and trouble and let the hardware upscalers in all TVs do their job.
     

Share This Page