How to use AC WiFi?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by xxxsteveoxxx, Sep 21, 2014.

  1. xxxsteveoxxx macrumors member

    xxxsteveoxxx

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #1
    I have the newest version AirPort Extreme and the iPhone 6. How do I know if I'm on AC wifi?
     
  2. iPhone1 macrumors 65816

    iPhone1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    Use Airport Utility on your Mac to verify your network setup.
     
  3. xxxsteveoxxx thread starter macrumors member

    xxxsteveoxxx

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #3
    Can airport utility on Ipad work because I see no settings for AC
     
  4. geoff5093 macrumors 68020

    geoff5093

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Dover, NH
    #4
    Transfer a large file over WiFi, something in the several GB range and see how long it takes. Or if you have a 100Mbps+ internet connection, use the speedtest app.
     
  5. xxxsteveoxxx thread starter macrumors member

    xxxsteveoxxx

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #5
    So you're saying it's prob automatic? I didn't know if it was supposed to come up as an alternative to the regular hotspot and the 5ghz.
     
  6. Appl3FTW macrumors 603

    Appl3FTW

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #6
    People you need to have a compatible AC router sheesh..
     
  7. xxxsteveoxxx thread starter macrumors member

    xxxsteveoxxx

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #7
    Did you not even read my original post?
     
  8. wxman2003 Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #8
    Set up your AC to have a different name for the 5GHZ band. If you are logged on to the 5GHz band, you will be on AC if your device supports it.
     
  9. zzoomp09, Sep 27, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2014

    zzoomp09 macrumors 6502

    zzoomp09

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    nordern nu joizee
    #9
    B/G/N - 2.4 GHz
    N/A/C - 5 GHz

    Go to the wireless options and see if 5GHz is enabled and what SSID it is. Then connect your iPhone6 to it.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Afbar1114 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #10

    I have an N router and it is 5GHz as well
     
  11. zzoomp09 macrumors 6502

    zzoomp09

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    nordern nu joizee
    #11
    Sorry, forgot to add N in 5GHz. Corrected.
     
  12. iPhone7ate9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    #12
    If you set your router to the newest speed (N? ac?) but a device you have only accepts up to g, will it work?
     
  13. zzoomp09 macrumors 6502

    zzoomp09

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    nordern nu joizee
  14. wxman2003 Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #14
    From the Apple site

    AirPort Extreme features simultaneous dual-band 802.11ac Wi‑Fi. That means it transmits at both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz frequencies at the same time. So no matter which band your wireless devices use, they’ll automatically connect to the best available band for the fastest possible performance.

    https://www.apple.com/hk/en/airport-extreme/
     
  15. pumperx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #15
    I just bought a AirPort Extreme today to accomadate my new i6+. I am very happy the speed, not just on iPhone 6. Even my iPad and kids iPad mini also seems to connect much faster than before. Money very well spent.
     
  16. HEK macrumors 68040

    HEK

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #16
    Get the WiFi Sweetspots app. It allows you to test WiFi speed independent of internet connection. I have the AirPort Extreme with ac band and my iPhone 6 Plus gets the following results, 279 mbps.

    image.jpg
     
  17. HEK macrumors 68040

    HEK

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
  18. SluGuru macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    #18
    Thank you so much for sharing this! I have literally been looking for this tool for months.
     
  19. HEK macrumors 68040

    HEK

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #19
    Glad to help. I just found it as well. I really like checking out the strength around the house. Reposition the AirPort Extreme to maximize signal strength and distance.
     
  20. osofast240sx macrumors 68030

    osofast240sx

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #20
    does it have router location feature? To pin point the best placement?
     
  21. HEK macrumors 68040

    HEK

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #21
    I run app on the phone and walk around house watching the speed fall and rise. Find the dead spots, then can move router and see results. Interesting how walls absorb signals. Raise my AirPort Extreme router to higher location. Improved some weaker areas. The AirPort Extreme has multiple antennas that beam wifi signal.
     

Share This Page