how to use airplay on macbook pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RH5, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. RH5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #1
    How do u use the airplay mirroring? i see the airplay symbol in the menu but when i click it all it says is "Open Display Preferences" and i have it turned on the Airplay Mirroring is grayed out and says "No Devices Connected"
     
  2. stevelam macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #2
    well..do you actually have other airplay devices?
     
  3. RH5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #3
    I have my apple tv and macbook pro both connected on the same wifi with airplay mirroring on. what kind of a question is that of course i would have other airplay devices what the hell would i be trying to connect to?
     
  4. heyimandy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #4
    Well he didn't know. Some people who are new to mac might not quite understand what airplay is.

    It should act the same way as your iphone. Assuming that the AppleTV is on as soon as you click Airplay on your mac in the top right hand corner it should instantly mirror it onto your TV where your AppleTV is connected. I didn't have to set anything up its just beamed right to the TV as if I were doing it from iOS.
     
  5. ColoArtist macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #5
    What generation ATV? It needs to be a gen1 or gen2 for AirPlay.

    :apple:
     
  6. RH5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #6
    all it says is this
    [​IMG]

    ----------

    I have 2nd Gen Apple TV. iphone, ipad work on mirroring. I have mid 2012 macbook pro 13" 2.9gHz so there is nothing wrong with the requirements i have no idea what to do
     
  7. heyimandy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #7
    And they are both currently connected on the same wifi network?
     
  8. RH5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #8
    yeah my atv MacBook Pro iphone iPad are all on the same wifi network. my ipad can mirror no problem. my macbook can play a video on itunes and put that on the tv but the mirroring my macbook wont work. when i press the button it just says open display preferences
     
  9. heyimandy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #9
    I found this... maybe give it a shot. You have me stumped.

    "I had the same problem immediately after installing Mountain Lion today. I rebooted my modem (doubt that had anything to do with it), turned on Internet Sharing and Voila! Hope this works for you."

    Via: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4133905?tstart=0
     
  10. mzjin macrumors 6502

    mzjin

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #10
    Airplay is probably not supported on your MBP if it's like a 2009 or 2010 or something old.
     
  11. RH5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #11
    people gotta learn how to read -.-
     
  12. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    Works fine for me. Maybe try restarting macbook and apple tv.
     
  13. RH5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #13
    ive tried everything ive restarted my router, macbook, apple tv and nothing shows up when i click the airplay icon except open display perferences like the pic i posted above
     
  14. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #14
    Have you run software update to see if there are any new updates? My MBA had a firmware update like an hour after I installed ML.
     
  15. RH5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #15
    just checked it says no updates available :(
     
  16. RH5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #16
    found out the stupid problem. i checked online and it said the lasted version of apple tv was 5.0.2 and i checked mine it was only 4.4.4 but everytime I clicked update software it says it was already up to date. so i had to restore it on itunes.
     
  17. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #17
    Makes sense. Weird tho.
     

Share This Page