How to use an AKG100 mic with Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by janmcn1, Nov 22, 2010.

  1. janmcn1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #1
    My husband has a PC that he's able to use his AKG100 Condenser Mic with for doing voiceovers that he then imports into his Macbook Pro where he can use it with Final Cut Express to add to his videos.

    There's got to be a way for him to use this mic with his Mac setup so we can get rid of the PC (the only thing he uses it for now). In the near future he'll get an Imac so will only have those inputs.

    Any ideas of how to go about this?
    Many thanks.
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    What kind of connector does the mic use?

    "XLR" type, or something else?
     
  3. janmcn1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #3
    The mic has a standard mic connector (and its own power supply) which can connect to the Mac, but the Mac doesn't "find" it. He was told by someone at work that he probably needed some kind of audio interface ?
     
  4. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #4
    What does he use to connect it to the PC? And what do you mean by "standard mic connector"?
     
  5. qbradley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    #5
    The AKG 100 seems to have an XLR connection so the "power supply" that connects to it is a Preamp or an interface. If it is an interface and the mac doesn't recognize it, then there probably is a driver that needs to be installed. How does it connect to the PC? USB?
     
  6. janmcn1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #6
    Sorry, I need to be more clear (difficult when you don't really know what you're talking about.)
    The "power supply" that the mic has is a "brick" that plugs into the normal wall socket...plain old power.
    The connector to the Mac or PC is via a "standard mic in" plug...the kind you would find on any cheap mic to plug in...not the XLR type.

    No other "Stuff" involved. I think we need to have something in between the mac and the mic...according to someone who posted a good primer here, it's some kind of "audio interface."
     
  7. janmcn1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
  8. gatepc macrumors 6502

    gatepc

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    #9
  9. janmcn1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #10
    Thanks..."Better Solution" looks like it's just what we need without overkill. One of the "reviewers" was using it with a similar setup to ours...Imac, etc...
    Thanks very much...you've been helpful to Santa!
     
  10. gatepc macrumors 6502

    gatepc

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    #11
    Your welcome, on another note that should plug directly into the mic but it might be better to have an extension cable going from the usb adapter too the mic.

    here is one below

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10244&cs_id=1024401&p_id=4751&seq=1&format=2

    monoprice has excellent deals on cables and they are great quality as well. If you don't want too buy from them though they probably have some on amazon but they likely cost more. Also not sure if that mic adapter comes with a USB cable if it does not you probably have one laying around the house if not they are not expensive either.

    Also once you get it if you need any help getting the usb adapter to work with garageband I might be able to help so feel free to PM me. It should be quit easy though just select it as an audio input device.
     

Share This Page