How to use Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Martyimac, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. Martyimac macrumors 6502a

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #1
    I used the search but didn't find an answer specific to my question, which is:

    If I move my Windows 7 hard drive from my PC to my soon to be here MacPro, how do I make it useable in OSX? That is, If I use bootcamp, do I have to completely reformat and install W7? If I don't have to reformat, any tips as to how to most effectively use bootcamp to run W7? Basically, if I have to reformat, I might as well keep it in the PC until my shift to Mac OSX is complete.
    I am not talking intensive use, possibly only Quicken for windows until I figure out what program to use on the mac. Other uses might include office if there are problems using my PC files in the new Office for Mac when it comes out next week.

    Or should I consider Fusion or parallels?

    Thanks
     
  2. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #2
    You need to repartition using BootCamp and then install Windows. You can just pop your PC drive with Windows on it into a MAC.

    Sorry.
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    Windows is not portable. It generally freaks out if you move it from one set of hardware to another, so if you want to do a native install you should reinstall and all your apps.

    However, for your specified uses and the fact that it is a Mac Pro, you should be able to do what you want in a VM. Assuming that you will actually retire the PC, you can use the tools provided by VMWare or Parallels to convert your PC to a VM (Parallels Transporter or VMWare Converter.) This would allow you to bring over your Windows and all the apps and data, but the PC then becomes a doorstop. VMWare and Parallels try to work some magic to convince Windows Activation that the underlying hardware has not changed and so make this kind of conversion simpler.

    B
     
  4. Martyimac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #4
    I assume you meant to say can'T just pop the pc drive in?
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    ;)

    NOTE: Since you are talking Mac Pro you don't actually need to repartition. You can install W7 on its own separate drive if you so choose to. You can remove the Mac OS X drive (for safe keeping) put in a blank drive and install Windows as you would on any PC. (Just hold C or Alt/Option on boot).

    B
     
  6. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #6
    Like the poster above me said, you can "install" Windows.

    If you just drop the PC drive with Windows on it and start Windows, it will :eek:FREAK OUT:eek: when it tries to boot up, I believe!

    If you use Boot Camp, Windows needs a nice install where it can make itself at home in your Mac Pro.:apple:
     
  7. Martyimac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #7
    From what I have researched, I fear your answer is correct. Not that I mind, was just hoping against hope that I would not have to do a reinstall. I think what I may do is get a small hard drive for the Windows 7 install and convert the PC hard drive (a WD black 1TB) into my second hard drive for date and make the W7 hard drive the third hard drive.
    Sound plausible?
     

Share This Page