How to use Space in 10.5 more efficient?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by davidchan100, Nov 27, 2007.

  1. davidchan100 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    #1
    I like the Space function in Leopard very much, it virtually give you few more working space on your screen.

    However, even i have got those "virtual space", i rarely use them, i am still having a lot of window in one "screen" only.

    Anyone can recommand a more efficient ways to use this function, please share your experience.
     
  2. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    1 Browser, 2 Mail, 3 Music, Quicktime, other media, 4 Work space (Pages, FCE, CS3, etc.)
     
  3. osirisX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #3
    Set up each space for either a type of task or a particular type of apps. Then bind apps to each space. Once an app is bound to a space it will always open there. Here is my setup:

    Space 1: Internet.
    Space 2: RSS and Mail.
    Space 3: Media.
    Space 4: Work.
     
  4. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #4
    Go to the Spaces control panel and set it up so you have 9 spaces instead of 4 and you should be able to decrease a lot of clutter. I find 4 a bit limiting and would rather just stick to 1 if that were the only option.
     
  5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #5
    I agree that four seems a bit too little. I have 6 and here is my setup

    1: Stickies
    2:Mail
    3:iCal
    4:iTunes
    5:Workspace (Word)
    6:Workspace (Excel)
     
  6. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #6
    I still say the best use I've found yet is to put my VMWare Fusion running my Boot Camp Vista full screen in one space. It is the best way I've found yet to switch between the OSes quickly. I prefer it to the Fusion "Unity" mode which puts Windows apps in the OS X dock.

    Then I keep one space empty at all times to use as a "clear desktop" button and another window is the one I am actually working in OS X on. I really only use 2 most of the time and 3 when I am running Fusion.
     
  7. kas23 macrumors 603

    kas23

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #7
    I keep all of my apps in one folder (to be displayed in grid fashion) and I have another folder of downloads that are displayed as a fan. If I get too many DLs and they show as a grid, then I clean it out. Using stacks for DLs is pretty good.
     
  8. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #8
    I have 4 spaces set for different tasks. Email in one, Web in another, work in 3rd and misc for 4th. I have set up mighty mouse button 4 (squeeze) to show all spaces then I can quickly choose which one I want.
     
  9. anjinha macrumors 604

    anjinha

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #9
    This thread is about Spaces, not Stacks.
     
  10. Vidd macrumors 6502a

    Vidd

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #10
    I use 2 because part of me still hasn't gotten over the fact that on 1024x768 you're better off hitting maximize in Windows. Expose on the Mighty Mouse's side button compensates somewhat for my habits.
    I might have a go at 4 though, soon.

    I use Hot Corners to make Spaces more efficient although I've also mapped it to F6.
     
  11. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #11
    I have 4 spaces but keep forgetting I have them. I only use one but I have 2 20 inch monitors so there's not a whole lot of clutter... especially since I'm a Safari/iTunes/World of Warcraft person primarily.

    It would make for a good "boss key" though... ;)
     

Share This Page