How to use Studio Display with ADC with DVI or VGA?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by InfoTime, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. InfoTime macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #1
    I have a 17" Apple Studio Display (LCD) with the ADC connector (I think). The computer does not have a matching connector for the monitor. It has a video card with a VGA and DVI port. Is there an inexpensive way to get the cpu and the display to work together?
     
  2. reebzor macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #2
    you need an ADC to DVI adapter. These usually cost around $100.

    At that rate, it is generally a better option to just buy a newer, bigger, better monitor for not much more.
     
  3. mchalebk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #3
    The problem is that the ADC displays don't have power supplies built in. That's why the adapters cost so much. When I got a new MacPro, I decided I liked my 20" ADC display enough to spring for the adapter (I think I got it for about $90, maybe at NewEgg). If it had been a 17" display, I think I would have bought a new display.
     
  4. quantum003 macrumors 6502a

    quantum003

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Location:
    Superposition
    #4
    What type of Mac? If it's a G5 you might be able to pick up a good video card with ADC for less than the price of an adapter.
     
  5. InfoTime thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #5
    Thanks for the responses so far...

    The machine is a Power Mac G4 (blue) 450 MHz with 256 MB RAM. I started another thread about the machine itself:

    I'm working on this for a friend who got it from her boss as a hand-me-down. She's had it in storage for a couple of years. She told me she thought they were a system (monitor and computer) but the connectors don't match up.
     

Share This Page