How to use unlocked iPhone?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by germanguy, Sep 29, 2011.

  1. germanguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #1
    I have an iphone 4 unlocked via Cydia (old baseband 1.59). How do I actually go about using a prepaid SIM card for use abroad. I have a Vodafone prepaid SIM card that I want to use over in Germany. When I put it in, I get a message "no service". Are there any particular steps that I need to follow in addition to just putting in the prepaid SIM card?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  3. germanguy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #3
    Yes, I did.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    If you're on 01.59.00 and ultrasnow is installed then you're good.
    Try a few reboot and reset network settings to see if it recognizes it then.
    Also double check the sim to make sure it works and has minutes.
     
  5. germanguy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #5
    Did the reboot but have not tried reset network settings, will do that, thanks.
     
  6. Insilin1i macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    If you're not currently in Germany the sim might not find service depending on which country you're in. I remember asking Vodafone in Portugal about if I could use it in Canada so that the number wouldn't get disabled and they said no.
     
  7. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #7
    In US, in order for us to use with T-Mobile sim, we have to turn 3G off. i am not sure if it apply to your pre-paid carrier, might try to turn 3G off to see if you can get service.
     

Share This Page