how to use your mac from anywhere

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by .mark., Feb 28, 2008.

  1. .mark. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Jersey, C.I.
    #1
    I found this today and I'm quite interested in it but I'm also a little sceptical as it was last updated in 2005.

    Three questions
    1. Is this method safe to use?
    2. Will it work ok with leopard?
    3. Is there a easier/better way?
     
  2. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #2
    I used to use VNC as well, but leave the server off. I'd log in via ssh, start the VNC server, then connect. And only leave the server running as long as I was logged in.

    I believe OSX has had a built in VNC server since 10.4, though I haven't used it.

    It doesn't seem to me to be anywhere near the performance of (for example) Remote Desktop on Windows. I've never used the Apple Remote Desktop, so I don't know how it performs, but it doesn't seem to be aimed much at this type of work.
     
  3. fanbrain macrumors 6502

    fanbrain

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    So. UT
    #4
    I use logmein and I love it. Can't beat the price too.

    At work I use gotomypc, and it is a little faster and more robust, but, not free.
     
  4. antibact1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #5
    Carry your Mac around with you - way easier
     
  5. .mark. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Jersey, C.I.
    #6
    this seems a bit to good to be true! why no cost? what's the catch? is it secure etc... is this safe to use?
     
  6. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #7
    works fine for me, I wouldnt enter CC info etc thru it, but it works.

    that is until your company WEBSENSE blocks it cuz they hate you.
     

Share This Page